science fiction awards+ database

The Science Fiction Awards Database is a rebranding, redesign, and expansion of the Locus Index to Science Fiction Awards, established in 2000 but now deprecated, except for the homepage and the essays linked in the left pane.

This site went online in August 2012 with awards listings and individual pages for every nominee (under the Names tab, above) -- and for those with more than a few nominations, separate pages sorted chronologically and alphabetically by title.

This site's goal, despite the title, is to profile the significant works of SF/F/H history based not just on Awards, but on additional sources, as indicated in the tabs above -- Citations, and Anthologies/Collections. While the awards content was transferred from the old site in 2012, these additional data, and analyses, are being developed and posted in 2014, with a plan for the entire site to be complete by the end of 2016.

2016 Winners and Finalists:

2015 Winners:

Latest Updates [RSS]

2016 Rhysling winners

37 new and updates pages.

2016 Lambda winner

Campbell Memorial Award finalists

59 new and updated pages.

Four of this year’s finalists have previously won the Campbell Memorial Award: Kim Stanley Robinson in 1991 for Pacific Edge, Paolo Bacigalupi in 2010 for The Windup Girl, Ian McDonald in 2011 for The Dervish House, and Adam Roberts in 2013 for Jack Glass.

In addition to their wins, Robinson has been a finalist five times before, McDonald twice before, and Roberts three times before.

Three of year’s finalists are first-timers: Nnedi Okorafor, Kit Reed, and Eleanor Lerman.

Dave Hutchinson was a finalist last year for Europe in Autumn. James Morrow has been a finalist four times before (placing second twice and third twice), Linda Nagata twice before, and Neal Stephenson twice before.

Mythopoeic finalists

IAFA, Lord Ruthven winners

Copyright 2012 - 2016 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved
Homepage and blog posts powered by WordPress. Custom design overlays BlankSlate theme by TidyThemes.