2020 Results

science fiction awards database

Science Fiction Hall of Fame
Hugo Awards
Nebula Awards
World Fantasy Awards
British Fantasy Awards
  • fantasy novel (Robert Holdstock Award) : The Bone Ships, RJ Barker
  • horror novel (August Derleth Award) : The Reddening, Adam Nevill
  • anthology : New Suns: Original Speculative Fiction by People of Color, Nisi Shawl, ed.
  • collection : Sing Your Sadness Deep, Laura Mauro
  • novella : Ormeshadow, Priya Sharma
  • short story : “The Pain-Eater's Daughter”, Laura Mauro
  • non-fiction : The Dark Fantastic: Race and the Imagination from Harry Potter to The Hunger Games, Ebony Elizabeth Thomas
  • independent press : Rebellion
  • magazine/periodical : Fiyah
  • artist : Ben Baldwin
  • comic/graphic novel : DIE, Kieron Gillen & Stephanie Hans
  • film/television production : Us
  • audio : PodCastle
  • Karl Edward Wagner Award for Special Achievement : Craig Lockley
  • Sydney J. Bounds Award for Best Newcomer : Ta-Nehisi Coates
British SF Association Awards
Chesley Awards
  • cover illustration, hardcover : Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky, Eric Wilkerson
  • cover illustration, paperback or e-book : The Long List Anthology Volume 5, Amanda Makepeace
  • magazine illustration : Evan Cagle
  • interior illustration : Ninth House, John Picacio
  • color work, unpublished : “The Raven, the Wolf and the Maiden”, Debbit Hughes
  • monochrome work, unpublished : “Gyhan akaii dannan Deli Iatt (She who sits at the end of the world upon a mountain of bones dreaming)”, Tehani Farr
  • three-dimensional : “Selene”, Forest Rogers
  • lifetime artistic achievement : Syd Mead
  • art director : Lauren Panepinto
  • gaming-related illustration : “King By His Own Hand”, Charles Urbach
  • product illustration : Olde Fae tuck box, Rachel Quinlan
Dragon Awards
Eugie Awards
Ignyte Awards
Lodestar Award
Philip K. Dick Award
Ray Bradbury Award
  • Good Omens: “Hard Times”
Shirley Jackson Awards
Bram Stoker Awards
Locus Awards
Analog Readers Poll
Asimov's Reader Poll
Aurealis Awards
Aurora Awards
Carl Brandon Awards
Ditmar Awards
Dwarf Stars Award
Elgin Awards
Endeavour Award
Geffen Awards
IAFA Awards
Ignotus Awards
  • foreign novel : The Light Brigade (La brigada de luz), Kameron Hurley
  • foreign short story : All Systems Red (Sistemas críticos), Martha Wells
Grand Prix de l'Imaginaire
Italia Awards
  • international novel : This Census-Taker (L’uomo del censimento), China Miéville
The Kitschies
  • Red Tentacle (novel) : The Fire Starters, Jan Carson
  • Golden Tentacle (debut novel) : Jelly, Clare Rees
  • Inky Tentacle (cover art) : The Memory Police, Tyler Comrie
Kurd Lasswitz Preis
Mythopoeic Awards
  • adult literature : Snow White Learns Witchcraft, Theodora Goss
  • children's literature : Dragon Pearl, Yoon Ha Lee
  • Inklings studies : "The Sweet and the Bitter": Death and Dying in J.R.R. Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings, Amy Amendt-Raduege
  • myth and fantasy studies : A Modernist Fantasy: Modernism, Anarchism, and the Radical Fantastic, James Gifford
Prometheus Awards
Retro Hugo Awards
Rhysling Awards
Lord Ruthven Awards
Seiun Awards
  • translated novel : The Three-Body Problem, Cixin Liu
  • translated story : “Uncanny Valley”, Greg Egan
SFRA Awards
  • Lifetime Contributions to SF Scholarship : Sherryl Vint
  • Innovative Research Award : “Triangulating the Dyad: Seen (Orciny) Unseen”, Susan Ang
  • Clareson Award : Wu Yan
  • Mary Kay Bray Award : “Gene Wolfe”, Rich Horton
  • Mary Kay Bray Award : “Treknomics”, Erin Horáková
  • Student Paper : “‘Changing Landscapes’: Ecocritical Dystopianism in Contemporary Indigenous SF Literature”, Conrad Scott
  • SFRA Book Award : Information Fantasies: Precarious Mediation in Postsocialist China, Xiao Liu
  • Science Fiction and Technoculture Studies Book Prize : Radical Botany: Plants and Speculative Fiction, Natania Meeker & Antónia Szabari
SFWA Awards
Sidewise Awards -- winner(s) to be announced December 19, 2021
Sir Julius Vogel Awards
Spectrum Awards
Sunburst Award
Dell Magazines Award
Writers and Illustrators of the Future
WSFA Small Press Award

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Wednesday 24 Nov 2021 at 10:34 PT