James Tiptree Jr Memorial Award

science fiction awards database
Sturgeon <— Overview thread —> Locus

  James Tiptree Jr Memorial Award  
The James Tiptree, Jr. Award is an annual literary prize for "science fiction or fantasy that explores and expands the roles of women and men for work by both women and men". It's named after Alice B. Sheldon, who wrote under the pseudonym James Tiptree, Jr. for many years before revealing her identity and real name.
Novels and short fiction are both eligible; theme 'gender-bending fiction'
Check for $1000
Where & When
Annual at various conventions, most recently Wiscon in Madison, Wisconsin
Five judges are selected each year, who evaluate recommendations submitted by publishers and by readers. Judges choose a winner, and release a 'shortlist' and sometimes a 'longlist' of other works they feel merit attention, though those lists are not considered to be finalists or runners-up.
Founded by Pat Murphy and Karen Joy Fowler
Official Site
— Winners by Year —
— 2016 — (tie) “The New Mother”, Eugene Fischer
  (tie) Lizard Radio, Pat Schmatz
— 2015 — (tie) The Girl in the Road, Monica Byrne
  (tie) My Real Children, Jo Walton
— 2014 — Rupetta, N. A. Sulway
— 2013 — (tie) Ancient, Ancient, Kiini Ibura Salaam
  (tie) The Drowning Girl, Caitlín R. Kiernan
— 2012 — Redwood and Wildfire, Andrea Hairston
— 2011 — Baba Yaga Laid an Egg, Dubravka Ugresic
— 2010 — (tie) Ooku: The Inner Chambers, Volumes 1 & 2, Fumi Yoshinaga
  (tie) Cloud & Ashes: Three Winter's Tales, Greer Gilman
— 2009 — (tie) The Knife of Never Letting Go, Patrick Ness
  (tie) Filter House, Nisi Shawl
— 2008 — The Carhullan Army, Sarah Hall
— 2007 — (tie) Half Life, Shelley Jackson
  (tie) The Orphan's Tales: In the Night Garden, Catherynne M. Valente
— 2006 — Air, Geoff Ryman
— 2005 — (tie) Camouflage, Joe Haldeman
  (tie) Not Before Sundown (UK title: Troll: A Love Story), Johanna Sinisalo
— 2004 — Set This House In Order: A Romance Of Souls, Matt Ruff
— 2003 — (tie) Light, M. John Harrison
  (tie) “Stories for Men”, John Kessel
— 2002 — The Kappa Child, Hiromi Goto
— 2001 — Wild Life, Molly Gloss
— 2000 — The Conqueror's Child, Suzy McKee Charnas
— 1999 — “Congenital Agenesis of Gender Ideation by K.N. Sirsi and Sandra Botkin”, Raphael Carter
— 1998 — “Travels With the Snow Queen”, Kelly Link
  Black Wine, Candas Jane Dorsey
— 1997 — Angela Carter (special award)
  The Sparrow, Mary Doria Russell
  “Mountain Ways”, Ursula K. Le Guin
— 1996 — Waking the Moon (revised), Elizabeth Hand
  The Memoirs of Elizabeth Frankenstein, Theodore Roszak
  Motherlines, Suzy McKee Charnas (retrospective Tiptree)
  Walk to the End of the World, Suzy McKee Charnas (retrospective Tiptree)
  The Left Hand of Darkness, Ursula K. Le Guin (retrospective Tiptree)
  “When It Changed”, Joanna Russ (retrospective Tiptree)
  The Female Man, Joanna Russ (retrospective Tiptree)
— 1995 — Larque on the Wing, Nancy Springer
  “The Matter of Seggri”, Ursula K. Le Guin
— 1994 — Ammonite, Nicola Griffith
— 1993 — China Mountain Zhang, Maureen F. McHugh
— 1992 — White Queen, Gwyneth Jones
  A Woman of the Iron People, Eleanor Arnason

Copyright 2012 - 2017 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Tuesday 24 May 2016 at 13:02 PT