Hugo Awards 2016

science fiction awards database

SFWA Grand Master <— 2016 thread —> Nebula

2017 <— Hugo Awards —> 2015
Where and When: MidAmericon II, Kansas City MO : August 20, 2016
Eligibility Year: 2015
Associated Awards: John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (also listed below)
  • Winner: “Folding Beijing”, Hao Jingfang (Uncanny Magazine Jan/Feb 2015)
  • “And You Shall Know Her by the Trail of Dead”, Brooke Bolander (Lightspeed Feb 2015)
  • “Flashpoint: Titan”, Cheah Kai Wai (There Will Be War: Volume X Castalia House)
  • “Obits”, Stephen King (The Bazaar of Bad Dreams)
  • “What Price Humanity?”, David VanDyke (There Will Be War: Volume X Castalia House)
Short Story
  • Winner: “Cat Pictures Please”, Naomi Kritzer (Clarkesworld Jan 2015)
  • “Asymmetrical Warfare”, S. R. Algernon (Nature Mar 2015)
  • “If You Were An Award, My Love”, Juan Tabo & S. Harris ( Jun 2015)
  • “Seven Kill Tiger”, Charles Shao (There Will Be War: Volume X Castalia House)
  • Space Raptor Butt Invasion, Chuck Tingle (Amazon Digital Services)
  • The Commuter, Thomas A. Mays (Stealth) [nomination withdrawn]
Related Work
  • Winner: no award
  • Between Light and Shadow: An Exploration of the Fiction of Gene Wolfe, 1951 to 1986, Marc Aramini (Castalia House)
  • “The First Draft of My Appendix N Book”, Jeffro Johnson (
  • “Safe Space as Rape Room”, Daniel Eness (
  • SJWs Always Lie: Taking Down the Thought Police, Vox Day (Castalia House)
  • “The Story of Moira Greyland”, Moira Greyland (
Graphic Story
Dramatic Presentation: Long Form
  • Winner: The Martian (screenplay by Drew Goddard, directed by Ridley Scott; Scott Free Productions; Kinberg Genre; TSG Entertainment; 20th Century Fox)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (written and directed by Joss Whedon; Marvel Studios; Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures)
  • Ex Machina (written and directed by Alex Garland; Film4; DNA Films; Universal Pictures)
  • Mad Max: Fury Road (written by George Miller, Brendan McCarthy, and Nico Lathouris, directed by George Miller; Village Roadshow Pictures; Kennedy Miller Mitchell; RatPac-Dune Entertainment; Warner Bros. Pictures)
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens (written by Lawrence Kasdan, J. J. Abrams, and Michael Arndt, directed by J.J. Abrams; Lucasfilm Ltd.; Bad Robot Productions; Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures)
Dramatic Presentation: Short Form
  • Winner: Jessica Jones: “AKA Smile” (written by Scott Reynolds, Melissa Rosenberg, and Jamie King, directed by Michael Rymer; Marvel Television; ABC Studios; Tall Girls Productions; Netflix)
  • Doctor Who: “Heaven Sent” (written by Steven Moffat, directed by Rachel Talalay; BBC Television)
  • Grimm: “Headache” (written by Jim Kouf and David Greenwalt, directed by Jim Kouf; Universal Television; GK Productions; Hazy Mills Productions; Open 4 Business Productions; NBCUniversal Television Distribution)
  • My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic: “The Cutie Map, Parts 1 and 2” (written by Scott Sonneborn, M.A. Larson, and Meghan McCarthy, directed by Jayson Thiessen and Jim Miller; DHX Media/Vancouver; Hasbro Studios)
  • Supernatural: “Just My Imagination” (written by Jenny Klein, directed by Richard Speight Jr.; Kripke Enterprises; Wonderland Sound and Vision; Warner Bros. Television)
Associated Awards

The winners in the four top categories are all first-time Hugo winners (and all women): N.K. Jemisin, Nnedi Okorafor, Hao Jingfang, and Naomi Kritzer. Only Jemisin has been nominated before, for short story in 2010 and novel in 2011.

Sheila Gilbert, Abigail Larson, and Steve Stiles are also 1st-time Hugo winners, Gilbert with her 4th consecutive nomination, Larson with her first, and Stiles with his 15th nomination.

Mike Glyer has won most times before; this is his 11th win, out of a total 54 nominations. This is Ellen Datlow's 7th win out of 19 total nominations; she previously won in 2002, 2005 (twice, including Best Web Site), 2009, 2010, and 2014. And this is Neil Gaiman's 5th Hugo in 8 nominations, following American Gods in 2002, Coraline in 2003, "A Study in Emerald" in 2004, and The Graveyard Book in 2009.

Finally, Lynne M. Thomas (Uncanny) as won her 4th Hugo in 9 nominations, after wins in 2011 in the "Related Work" category, and in 2012 and 2013 in the "Fancast" category.

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Thursday 6 Apr 2017 at 17:16 PT