Hugo Awards 2010

science fiction awards database

SFWA Grand Master <— 2010 thread —> Nebula

2011 <— Hugo Awards —> 2009
Where and When: Aussiecon 4, Melbourne, Australia : September 2, 2010 - September 6, 2010
Eligibility Year: 2009
Associated Awards: John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (also listed below)
  • Winner: “The Island”, Peter Watts (The New Space Opera 2)
  • “Eros, Philia, Agape”, Rachel Swirsky ( Mar 2009)
  • “It Takes Two”, Nicola Griffith (Eclipse Three)
  • “One of Our Bastards is Missing”, Paul Cornell (The Solaris Book of New Science Fiction, Volume Three)
  • “Overtime”, Charles Stross ( Dec 2009)
  • “Sinner, Baker, Fabulist, Priest; Red Mask, Black Mask, Gentleman, Beast”, Eugie Foster (Interzone Feb 2009)
Short Story
Related Book
  • Winner: This is Me, Jack Vance! (Or, More Properly, This is "I"), Jack Vance (Subterranean)
  • Canary Fever: Reviews, John Clute (Beccon)
  • Hope-In-the-Mist: The Extraordinary Career and Mysterious Life of Hope Mirrlees, Michael Swanwick (Temporary Culture)
  • The Inter-Galactic Playground: A Critical Study of Children's and Teens' Science Fiction, Farah Mendlesohn (McFarland)
  • On Joanna Russ, Farah Mendlesohn (Wesleyan)
  • The Secret Feminist Cabal: A Cultural History of Science Fiction Feminisms, Helen Merrick (Aqueduct)
Graphic Story
Dramatic Presentation: Long Form
  • Winner: Moon (screenplay by Nathan Parker; story by Duncan Jones; directed by Duncan Jones; Liberty Films)
  • Avatar (screenplay and directed by James Cameron; Twentieth Century Fox)
  • District 9 (screenplay by Neill Blomkamp & Terri Tatchell; directed by Neill Blomkamp; TriStar Pictures)
  • Star Trek (screenplay by Robert Orci & Alex Kurtzman; directed by J.J. Abrams; Paramount)
  • Up (screenplay by Bob Peterson & Pete Docter; story by Bob Peterson, Pete Docter, & Thomas McCarthy; directed by Bob Peterson & Pete Docter; Disney/Pixar)
Dramatic Presentation: Short Form
  • Winner: Doctor Who: “The Waters of Mars” (written by Russell T Davies & Phil Ford; directed by Graeme Harper; BBC Wales)
  • Doctor Who: “The Next Doctor” (written by Russell T Davies; directed by Andy Goddard; BBC Wales)
  • Doctor Who: “Planet of the Dead” (written by Russell T Davies & Gareth Roberts; directed by James Strong; BBC Wales)
  • Dollhouse: “Epitaph 1” (story by Joss Whedon; written by Maurissa Tancharoen & Jed Whedon; directed by David Solomon; Mutant Enemy)
  • FlashForward: “No More Good Days” (written by Brannon Braga & David S. Goyer; directed by David S. Goyer; based on the novel by Robert J. Sawyer; ABC)
Associated Awards


Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Wednesday 26 Oct 2022 at 10:50 PT