Nebula Awards 2015

science fiction awards database

Hugo <— 2015 thread —> World Fantasy

2016 <— Nebula Awards —> 2014
Where and When: Chicago IL : June 6, 2015
Eligibility Year: 2014
Associated Awards: Andre Norton Award, Ray Bradbury Award, SFWA Grand Master Award, SFWA Awards (also listed below)
Short Story
  • Winner: “Jackalope Wives”, Ursula Vernon (Apex 7 Jan 2014)
  • “The Breath of War”, Aliette de Bodard (Beneath Ceaseless Skies 6 Mar 2014)
  • “The Fisher Queen”, Alyssa Wong (F&SF May 2014)
  • “The Meeker and the All-Seeing Eye”, Matthew Kressel (Clarkesworld May 2014)
  • “A Stretch of Highway Two Lanes Wide”, Sarah Pinsker (F&SF Mar/Apr 2014)
  • “The Vaporization Enthalpy of a Peculiar Pakistani Family”, Usman T. Malik (Qualia Nous)
  • “When It Ends, He Catches Her”, Eugie Foster (Daily SF 26 Sep 2014)
Associated Awards




Kevin O'donnell Jr. Service To Sfwa
Solstice Award
Jeff VanderMeer, Alaya Dawn Johnson, and Ursula Vernon are first-time Nebula winners. This is Nancy Kress's sixth Nebula win (following five others listed below).

These are the first Nebula nominations for Katherine Addison, Daryl Gregory, Cixin Liu, Carmen Maria Machado, Usman T. Malik, Sam J. Miller, Ursula Vernon, Kai Ashante Wilson, and Alyssa Wong, and the second nominations for Eugie Foster (who won in 2010 for “Sinner, Baker, Fabulist, Priest; Red Mask, Black Mask, Gentleman, Beast”), Charles E. Gannon, Alaya Dawn Johnson, Matthew Kressel, Ann Leckie (who won last year for Ancillary Justice), Sarah Pinsker, M. (Mary) Rickert, and Jeff VanderMeer.

At the other extreme, this is Jack McDevitt’s 18th Nebula nomination, with one prior win for Seeker in 2007; and Nancy Kress’s 15th nomination, with 5 previous wins, for short story “Out of All Them Bright Stars” in 1986, novella “Beggars in Spain” in 1992, novelette “The Flowers of Aulit Prison” in 1998, novella “Fountain of Age” in 2008, and novella After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall in 2013.

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Sunday 21 Feb 2016 at 11:37 PT