Retro Hugo Awards 2019

science fiction awards database

Prometheus <— 2019 thread —> Rhysling

2020 <— Retro Hugo Awards —> 2018
Where and When: Dublin2019, Dublin, Ireland : August 15, 2019
Eligibility Year: 1943
Associated With: Hugo Awards
  • Winner: The Little Prince, Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (Reynal & Hitchcock)
  • “Attitude”, Hal Clement (Astounding Science Fiction Sep 1943)
  • “Clash by Night”, C. L. Moore & Henry Kuttner (Astounding Science Fiction Mar 1943) (as by Lawrence O'Donnell)
  • “The Dream-Quest of Unknown Kadath”, H. P. Lovecraft (Beyond the Wall of Sleep)
  • The Magic Bed-Knob; or, How to Become a Witch in Ten Easy Lessons, Mary Norton (Hyperion)
  • “We Print the Truth”, Anthony Boucher (Astounding Science Fiction Dec 1943)
  • Winner: “Mimsy Were the Borogoves”, C. L. Moore & Henry Kuttner (Astounding Science Fiction Feb 1943) (as by Lewis Padgett)
  • “Citadel of Lost Ships”, Leigh Brackett (Planet Stories Mar 1943)
  • “The Halfling”, Leigh Brackett (Astonishing Stories Feb 1943)
  • “The Proud Robot”, Henry Kuttner (Astounding Science Fiction Oct 1943) (as by Lewis Padgett)
  • “Symbiotica”, Eric Frank Russell (Astounding Science Fiction Oct 1943)
  • “Thieves' House”, Fritz Leiber (Unknown Worlds Feb 1943)
Short Story
  • Winner: “King of the Gray Spaces”, Ray Bradbury (Famous Fantastic Mysteries Dec 1943) (aka "R Is for Rocket")
  • “Death Sentence”, Isaac Asimov (Astounding Science Fiction Nov 1943)
  • “Doorway Into Time”, C. L. Moore (Famous Fantastic Mysteries Sep 1943)
  • “Exile”, Edmond Hamilton (Super Science Stories May 1943)
  • “Q.U.R.”, Anthony Boucher (Astounding Science Fiction Mar 1943) (as by H.H. Holmes)
  • “Yours Truly -- Jack the Ripper”, Robert Bloch (Weird Tales Jul 1943)
Graphic Story
Dramatic Presentation, Short Form
  • Winner: Frankenstein Meets the Wolfman (written by Curt Siodmak, directed by Roy William Neill; Universal Pictures)
  • The Ape Man (written by Barney A. Sarecky, directed by William Beaudine; Banner Productions)
  • Der Fuehrer's Face (story by Joe Grant and Dick Huemer, directed by Jack Kinney; Disney)
  • I Walked With a Zombie (written by Curt Siodmak and Ardel Wray, directed by Jacques Tourneur; RKO Radio Pictures)
  • The Seventh Victim (written by Charles O’Neal and DeWitt Bodeen, directed by Mark Robson; RKO Radio Pictures)
  • Super-Rabbit (written by Tedd Pierce, directed by Charles M. Jones; Warner Bros)
Dramatic Presentation, Long Form
  • Winner: Heaven Can Wait (written by Samson Raphaelson, directed by Ernst Lubitsch; 20th Century Fox)
  • Batman (written by Victor McLeod, Leslie Swabacker and Harry L. Fraser, directed by Lambert Hillyer; Columbia Pictures)
  • Cabin in the Sky (written by Joseph Schrank, directed by Vincente Minnelli and Busby Berkeley (uncredited); MGM)
  • A Guy Names Joe (written by Frederick Hazlitt Brennan and Dalton Trumbo, directed by Victor Fleming; MGM)
  • Münchausen (written by Erich Kästner and Rudolph Erich Raspe, directed by Josef von Báky; UFA)
  • Phantom of the Opera (written by Eric Taylor, Samuel Hoffenstein and Hans Jacoby, directed by Arthur Lubin; Universal Pictures)

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Monday 27 Apr 2020 at 10:41 PT