Nebula Awards Tallies

science fiction awards database

Hugo <— Overview thread —> World Fantasy

  Nebula Awards  
Multiple Winners
With another win in 2011, Connie Willis pulls ahead of Ursula K. Le Guin for the most Nebulas wins, 7. Nancy Kress and Ursula K. Le Guin have 6 each; Greg Bear, Joe Haldeman, and Robert Silverberg have 5 each.
Losers Club
Jack McDevitt and James Patrick Kelly finally won Nebulas in 2007, leaving the late Avram Davidson, with 10 nominations, the leader in this category, with Thomas M. Disch and Bruce Sterling following.
Never Won
Robert A. Heinlein, Philip K. Dick, R.A. Lafferty; Dan Simmons, Neal Stephenson, Tim Powers, Vernor Vinge, John Brunner
Never Even Nominated
Greg Egan, Paul J. McAuley, Stephen Baxter, Iain M. Banks, Christopher Priest, Rudy Rucker, Sheri S. Tepper
Total Nebula Wins
7 Connie Willis
6 Nancy Kress, Ursula K. Le Guin
5 Greg Bear, Joe Haldeman, Robert Silverberg
4 Ted Chiang, Samuel R. Delany, Harlan Ellison
3 Poul Anderson, Philippa Boyens, Lois McMaster Bujold, Arthur C. Clarke, Peter Jackson, Kij Johnson, Fritz Leiber, Kelly Link, Vonda N. McIntyre, Kim Stanley Robinson, James Tiptree, Jr., Fran Walsh, Kate Wilhelm, Roger Zelazny
Total Nebula Nominations
[Number of wins in brackets]
22 Robert Silverberg [5]
20 Gene Wolfe [2]
18 Kate Wilhelm [3], Jack McDevitt [1], Ursula K. Le Guin [6]
17 Michael Bishop [2], Harlan Ellison [4]
16 Michael Swanwick [1]
15 Connie Willis [7], Nancy Kress [6]
14 Roger Zelazny [3]
13 Jack Dann [1], Gregory Benford [2], James Patrick Kelly [1], George R. R. Martin [2]
12 Kim Stanley Robinson [3], Lucius Shepard [1], Poul Anderson [3]
11 Gardner Dozois [2], Fritz Leiber [3], Mike Resnick [1]
10 Karen Joy Fowler [2], Avram Davidson, Samuel R. Delany [4], Frederik Pohl [2], Walter Jon Williams [2], Bruce Sterling
9 Joanna Russ [1], John Varley [2], Thomas M. Disch, Ken Liu [1], John Kessel [2], Orson Scott Card [2], Greg Bear [5], Howard Waldrop [1], Joe Haldeman [5], James Tiptree, Jr. [3]
8 Vonda N. McIntyre [3], Lois McMaster Bujold [3], Andy Duncan [1], Richard Bowes, Larry Niven [1], William Gibson [1], Adam-Troy Castro
Nebula Never-Winners
Number of nominations without ever having won
10 Avram Davidson, Bruce Sterling
9 Thomas M. Disch
8 Richard Bowes, Adam-Troy Castro
7 Maureen F. McHugh, R. A. Lafferty
6 Norman Spinrad, Barry N. Malzberg
5 Philip K. Dick, Eleanor Arnason, Susan M. Shwartz, Lisa Goldstein, Kristine Kathryn Rusch, Pat Cadigan, Lawrence M. Schoen
4 Michael A. Burstein, Keith Laumer, Christopher Barzak, James H. Schmitz, Robert A. Heinlein, Vernor Vinge, K. D. Wentworth, Jonathan Lethem
Total Nebula Losses
Number of times nominated but lost [Number of wins in bracket]
18 Gene Wolfe [2]
17 Jack McDevitt [1], Robert Silverberg [5]
15 Kate Wilhelm [3], Michael Bishop [2], Michael Swanwick [1]
13 Harlan Ellison [4]
12 James Patrick Kelly [1], Ursula K. Le Guin [6], Jack Dann [1]
11 Lucius Shepard [1], Gregory Benford [2], Roger Zelazny [3], George R. R. Martin [2]
10 Avram Davidson, Mike Resnick [1], Bruce Sterling
9 Thomas M. Disch, Kim Stanley Robinson [3], Poul Anderson [3], Nancy Kress [6], Gardner Dozois [2]
8 Adam-Troy Castro, Richard Bowes, Ken Liu [1], Joanna Russ [1], Howard Waldrop [1], Walter Jon Williams [2], Fritz Leiber [3], Connie Willis [7], Karen Joy Fowler [2], Frederik Pohl [2]
7 John Kessel [2], John Varley [2], Maureen F. McHugh, Larry Niven [1], R. A. Lafferty, Andy Duncan [1], Orson Scott Card [2], William Gibson [1]

Copyright 2012 - 2019 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Sunday 20 May 2018 at 15:55 PT