Hugo Awards 2020

science fiction awards database

SFWA Grand Master <— 2020 thread —> Nebula

2021 <— Hugo Awards —> 2019
Where and When: CoNZealand, Wellington, New Zealand : August 1, 2020
Eligibility Year: 2019
Associated Awards: Astounding Award for Best New Writer., Lodestar Award, Retro Hugo Awards (also listed below)
Short Story
  • Winner: “As the Last I May Know”, S. L. Huang ( 23 Oct 2019)
  • “And Now His Lordship Is Laughing”, Shiv Ramdas (Strange Horizons 9 Sep 2019)
  • “Blood Is Another Word for Hunger”, Rivers Solomon ( 24 Jul 2019)
  • “A Catalog of Storms”, Fran Wilde (Uncanny Jan/Feb 2019)
  • “Do Not Look Back, My Lion”, Alix E. Harrow (Beneath Ceaseless Skies 31 Jan 2019)
  • “Ten Excerpts from an Annotated Bibliography on the Cannibal Women of Ratnabar Island”, Nibedita Sen (Nightmare May 2019)
Related Work
  • Winner: “2019 John W. Campbell Award Acceptance Speech”, Jeanette Ng
  • Becoming Superman: My Journey from Poverty to Hollywood, J. Michael Straczynski (Harper Voyager)
  • Joanna Russ, Gwyneth Jones (University of Illinois Press)
  • The Lady from the Black Lagoon: Hollywood Monsters and the Lost Legacy of Milicent Patrick, Mallory O'Meara (Hanover Square)
  • The Pleasant Profession of Robert A. Heinlein, Farah Mendlesohn (Unbound)
  • Worlds of Ursula K. Le Guin (produced and directed by Arwen Curry)
Graphic Story
Dramatic Presentation: Long Form
  • Winner: Good Omens (written by Neil Gaiman, directed by Douglas Mackinnon; Amazon Studios/BBC Studios/Narrativia/The Blank Corporation)
  • Avengers: Endgame (screenplay by Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely, directed by Anthony Russo and Joe Russo; Marvel Studios)
  • Captain Marvel (screenplay by Anna Boden, Ryan Fleck and Geneva Robertson-Dworet, directed by Anna Boden and Ryan Fleck; Walt Disney Pictures/Marvel Studios/Animal Logic (Australia))
  • Russian Doll: “Season One” (created by Natasha Lyonne, Leslye Headland and Amy Poehler, directed by Leslye Headland, Jamie Babbit and Natasha Lyonne; 3 Arts Entertainment/Jax Media/Netflix/Paper Kite Productions/Universal Television)
  • Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker (screenplay by Chris Terrio and J.J. Abrams, directed by J.J. Abrams; Walt Disney Pictures/Lucasfilm/Bad Robot)
  • Us (written and directed by Jordan Peele; Monkeypaw Productions/Universal Pictures)
Dramatic Presentation: Short Form
  • Winner: The Good Place: “The Answer” (written by Daniel Schofield, directed by Valeria Migliassi Collins; Fremulon/3 Arts Entertainment/Universal Television)
  • Doctor Who: “Resolution” (written by Chris Chibnall, directed by Wayne Yip; BBC)
  • The Expanse: “Cibola Burn” (written by Daniel Abraham & Ty Franck and Naren Shankar, directed by Breck Eisner; Amazon Prime Video)
  • The Mandalorian: “Redemption” (written by Jon Favreau, directed by Taika Waititi; Disney+)
  • Watchmen: “This Extraordinary Being” (written by Damon Lindelof and Cord Jefferson, directed by Stephen Williams; HBO)
  • Watchmen: “A God Walks into Abar” (written by Jeff Jensen and Damon Lindelof, directed by Nicole Kassell; HBO)
Associated Awards



  • Winner: “Killdozer!”, Theodore Sturgeon (Astounding Science Fiction Nov 1944)
  • “The Changeling”, A. E. van Vogt (Astounding Science Fiction Apr 1944)
  • “A God Named Kroo”, Henry Kuttner (Thrilling Wonder Stories Win 1944)
  • “Intruders from the Stars”, Ross Rocklynne (Amazing Stories Jan 1944)
  • “The Jewel of Bas”, Leigh Brackett (Planet Stories Spr 1944)
  • “Trog”, Murray Leinster (Astounding Science Fiction Jun 1944)
  • Winner: “City”, Clifford D. Simak (Astounding Science Fiction May 1944)
  • “Arena”, Fredric Brown (Astounding Science Fiction Jun 1944)
  • “The Big and the Little”, Isaac Asimov (Astounding Science Fiction Aug 1944) ("The Merchant Princes")
  • “The Children's Hour”, Lawrence O'Donnell (Astounding Science Fiction Mar 1944) (C.L. Moore & Henry Kuttner)
  • “No Woman Born”, C. L. Moore (Astounding Science Fiction Dec 1944)
  • “When the Bough Breaks”, Lewis Padgett (Astounding Science Fiction Nov 1944) (C.L. Moore & Henry Kuttner)
Short Story
  • Winner: “I, Rocket”, Ray Bradbury (Amazing Stories May 1944)
  • “And the Gods Laughed”, Fredric Brown (Planet Stories Spr 1944)
  • “Desertion”, Clifford D. Simak (Astounding Science Fiction Nov 1944)
  • “Far Centaurus”, A. E. van Vogt (Astounding Science Fiction Jan 1944)
  • “Huddling Place”, Clifford D. Simak (Astounding Science Fiction Jul 1944)
  • “The Wedge”, Isaac Asimov (Astounding Science Fiction Oct 1944) ("The Traders")
Related Work
  • Winner: “The Science-Fiction Field”, Leigh Brackett (Writer's Digest Jul 1944)
  • ’42 To ’44: A Contemporary Memoir Upon Human Behavior During the Crisis of the World Revolution, H. G. Wells (Secker & Warburg)
  • Fancyclopedia, Jack Speer (Forrest J Ackerman)
  • Mr. Tompkins Explores the Atom, George Gamow (Cambridge University Press)
  • Rockets: The Future of Travel Beyond the Stratosphere, Willy Ley (Viking Press)
  • “The Works of H.P. Lovecraft: Suggestions for a Critical Appraisal”, Fritz Leiber (The Acolyte Fall 1944)
Graphic Story
Dramatic Presentation, Short Form
  • Winner (tie): The Canterville Ghost (screenplay by Edwin Harvey Blum from a story by Oscar Wilde, directed by Jules Dassin (Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM))
  • Winner (tie): The Curse of the Cat People (written by DeWitt Bodeen, directed by Gunther V. Fritsch and Robert Wise (RKO Radio Pictures))
  • Donovan's Brain (adapted by Robert L. Richards from a story by Curt Siodmak, producer, director and editor William Spier (CBS Radio Network))
  • House of Frankenstein (screenplay by Edward T. Lowe, Jr. from a story by Curt Siodmak, directed by Erle C. Kenton (Universal Pictures))
  • The Invisible Man's Revenge (written by Bertram Millhauser, directed by Ford Beebe (Universal Pictures))
  • It Happened Tomorrow (screenplay and adaptation by Dudley Nichols and René Clair, directed by René Clair (Arnold Pressburger Films))

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Monday 19 Apr 2021 at 15:24 PT