Hugo Awards 2018

science fiction awards database

SFWA Grand Master <— 2018 thread —> Nebula

2019 <— Hugo Awards —> 2017
Where and When: Worldcon 76, San Jose, CA : August 19, 2018
Eligibility Year: 2017
Associated Awards: John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, Worldcon Special Convention Award (also listed below)
  • Winner: “The Secret Life of Bots”, Suzanne Palmer (Clarkesworld Sep 2017)
  • “Children of Thorns, Children of Water”, Aliette de Bodard (Uncanny Jul/Aug 2017)
  • “Extracurricular Activities”, Yoon Ha Lee ( 15 Feb 2017)
  • “A Series of Steaks”, Vina Jie-Min Prasad (Clarkesworld Jan 2017)
  • “Small Changes Over Long Periods of Time”, K. M. Szpara (Uncanny May/Jun 2017)
  • “Wind Will Rove”, Sarah Pinsker (Asimov's Sep/Oct 2017)
Short Story
Related Work
  • Winner: No Time to Spare: Thinking About What Matters, Ursula K. Le Guin (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
  • Crash Override: How Gamergate (Nearly) Destroyed My Life, and How We Can Win the Fight Against Online Hate, Zoe Quinn (PublicAffairs)
  • Iain M. Banks, Paul Kincaid (University of Illinois Press)
  • A Lit Fuse: The Provocative Life of Harlan Ellison, Nat Segaloff (NESFA)
  • Luminescent Threads: Connections to Octavia E. Butler, Alexandra Pierce & Mimi Mondal, eds. (Twelfth Planet)
  • Sleeping With Monsters: Readings and Reactions in Science Fiction and Fantasy, Liz Bourke (Aqueduct)
Graphic Story
Dramatic Presentation: Long Form
  • Winner: Wonder Woman (screenplay by Allan Heinberg, story by Zack Snyder & Allan Heinberg and Jason Fuchs, directed by Patty Jenkins; DC Films / Warner Brothers)
  • Blade Runner 2049 (written by Hampton Fancher and Michael Green, directed by Denis Villeneuve; Alcon Entertainment / Bud Yorkin Productions / Torridon Films / Columbia Pictures)
  • Get Out (written and directed by Jordan Peele; Blumhouse Productions / Monkeypaw Productions / QC Entertainment)
  • The Shape of Water (written by Guillermo del Toro and Vanessa Taylor, directed by Guillermo del Toro; TSG Entertainment / Double Dare You / Fox Searchlight Pictures)
  • Star Wars: The Last Jedi (written and directed by Rian Johnson; Lucasfilm, Ltd.)
  • Thor: Ragnorak (written by Eric Pearson, Craig Kyle, and Christopher Yost; directed by Taika Waititi; Marvel Studios)
Dramatic Presentation: Short Form
  • Winner: The Good Place: “The Trolley Problem” (written by Josh Siegal and Dylan Morgan, directed by Dean Holland (Fremulon / 3 Arts Entertainment / Universal Television))
  • Black Mirror: “USS Callister” (written by William Bridges and Charlie Brooker, directed by Toby Haynes (House of Tomorrow) "The Deep" [song], by Clipping (Daveed Diggs, William Hutson, Jonathan Snipes))
  • Doctor Who: “Twice Upon a Time” (written by Steven Moffat, directed by Rachel Talalay (BBC Cymru Wales))
  • The Good Place: “Michael Gambit” (written and directed by Michael Schur (Fremulon / 3 Arts Entertainment / Universal Television))
  • Star Trek: Discovery: “Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad” (written by Aron Eli Coleite & Jesse Alexander, directed by David M. Barrett (CBS Television Studios))
Associated Awards


Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Wednesday 7 Sep 2022 at 11:45 PT