Hugo Awards 2004

science fiction awards database

SFWA Grand Master <— 2004 thread —> Nebula

2005 <— Hugo Awards —> 2003
Where and When: Noreascon 4, Boston : September 4, 2004
Eligibility Year: 2003
Associated Awards: John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, Retro Hugo Awards, Worldcon Special Convention Award (also listed below)
  • Winner: “Legions in Time”, Michael Swanwick (Asimov's Apr 2003)
  • “Bernardo's House”, James Patrick Kelly (Asimov's Jun 2003)
  • “The Empire of Ice Cream”, Jeffrey Ford (Sci Fiction 26 Feb 2003)
  • “Hexagons”, Robert Reed (Asimov's Jul 2003)
  • “Into the Gardens of Sweet Night”, Jay Lake (L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future Volume XIX)
  • “Nightfall”, Charles Stross (Asimov's Apr 2003)
Short Story
Related Book
Dramatic Presentation: Long Form
  • Winner: The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (New Line Cinema; directed by Peter Jackson; screenplay by Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens & Peter Jackson; based on the novel by J.R.R. Tolkien)
  • 28 Days Later (DNA Films/Fox Searchlight; directed by Danny Boyle; written by Alex Garland)
  • Finding Nemo (Pixar/Walt Disney Pictures; directed by Andrew Stanton & Lee Unkrich; screenplay by Andrew Stanton, Bob Peterson & David Reynolds; story by Andrew Stanton)
  • Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl (Walt Disney Pictures; directed by Gore Verbinski; screenplay by Ted Elliott & Terry Rossio; screen story by Ted Elliott, Terry Rossio, Stuart Beattie & Jay Wolpert)
  • X2: X-Men United (20th Century Fox/Marvel; directed by Bryan Singer; screenplay by Michael Dougherty, Dan Harris & David Hayter; story by Zak Penn, David Hayter & Bryan Singer)
Dramatic Presentation: Short Form
  • Winner: Gollum's Acceptance Speech at the 2003 MTV Movie Awards (Wingnut Films/New Line Cinema; written and directed by Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens & Peter Jackson)
  • Buffy the Vampire Slayer: “Chosen” (Mutant Enemy Inc./20th Century Fox; written and directed by Joss Whedon)
  • Firefly: “The Message” (Mutant Enemy Inc./20th Century Fox; directed by Tim Minear; written by Joss Whedon & Tim Minear)
  • Firefly: “Heart of Gold” (Mutant Enemy Inc./20th Century Fox; directed by Thomas J. Wright; written by Brett Matthews)
  • Smallville: “Rosetta” (Tollin/Robbins Productions/Warner Brothers; directed by James Marshall; written by Al Gough & Miles Millar)
Associated Awards


Short Story
Related Book
Dramatic Presentation, Short Form
  • Winner: The War of the Worlds (Paramount Pictures; directed by Byron Haskin; screenplay by Barré Lyndon; based on the novel by H.G. Wells)
  • The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms (Mutual Pictures/Warner Brothers; directed by Eugène Lourié; screenplay by Louis Morheim and Fred Freiberger; based on the story by Ray Bradbury)
  • Duck Dodgers in the 24 1/2 th Century (Warner Brothers; directed by Chuck Jones; written by Michael Maltese)
  • Invaders from Mars (National Pictures/20th Century Fox; directed by William Cameron Menzies; screenplay by Richard Blake; story by John Tucker Battle)
  • It Came from Outer Space (Universal; directed by Jack Arnold; screenplay by Harry Essex; story by Ray Bradbury)

Special Award

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Friday 15 May 2015 at 10:03 PT