Hugo Awards 1996

science fiction awards database

SFWA Grand Master <— 1996 thread —> Nebula

1997 <— Hugo Awards —> 1995
Where and When: LAcon III, Anaheim CA : September 1, 1996
Eligibility Year: 1995
Associated Awards: John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, Retro Hugo Awards, Worldcon Special Convention Award (also listed below)
Short Story
Nonfiction Book
  • Winner: Science Fiction: The Illustrated Encyclopedia, John Clute (Dorling Kindersley)
  • Alien Horizons: The Fantastic Art of Bob Eggleton, Bob Eggleton (Paper Tiger)
  • Spectrum 2: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art, Cathy Burnett & Arnie Fenner, eds. (Underwood Books)
  • To Write Like a Woman: Essays in Feminism and Science Fiction, Joanna Russ (Indiana University Press)
  • Yours, Isaac Asimov, Isaac Asimov, edited by Stanley Asimov (Doubleday)
Dramatic Presentation
  • Winner: Babylon 5: “The Coming of Shadows” (Warner Bros.; J. Michael Straczynski, Douglas Netter, John Copeland, producers; J. Michael Straczynski, screenplay; Janet Greek, director)
  • 12 Monkeys (Universal; Charles Roven, producer; Terry Gilliam, director; David and Janet Peoples, screenplay)
  • Apollo 13 (Universal; Brian Grazer, producer; Ron Howard, director; William Broyles Jr. and Al Reinert, screenplay)
  • Star Trek: Deep Space Nine: “The Visitor” (Paramount Television; Rick Berman and Ira Steven Behr, executive producers; Michael Taylor, screenplay; David Livingston, director)
  • Toy Story (Buena Vista; Ralph Guggenheim and Bonnie Arnold, producers; John Lasseter, director; Joss Whedon, Andrew Stanton, Joel Cohen, and Alec Sokolow, screenplay)
Original Artwork
  • Winner: Dinotopia: The World Beneath, James Gurney (Turner)
  • Bob Eggleton for “Dankden” by Marc Laidlaw (F&SF Oct/Nov 1995)
  • George H. Krauter for “Renascance” by Poul Anderson (Analog Mar 1995)
  • Gary Lippincott for “Tea and Hamsters” by Michael Coney (F&SF Jan 1995)
  • Bob Eggleton for “Tide of Stars” by Julia Ecklar (Analog Jan 1995)
Associated Awards

  • Winner: “The Mule”, Isaac Asimov (Astounding Nov,Dec 1945)
  • “Destiny Times Three”, Fritz Leiber (Astounding Mar,Apr 1945)
  • “Red Sun of Danger” (book title Danger Planet), Brett Sterling (Startling Stories Spring 1945)
  • That Hideous Strength, C. S. Lewis (John Lane; Macmillan)
  • “The World of --A”, A. E. van Vogt (Astounding Aug,Sep,Oct 1945)
Short Story
Dramatic Presentation
  • Winner: The Picture of Dorian Gray
  • Blithe Spirit
  • The Body Snatcher
  • The Horn Blows at Midnight
  • House of Dracula

Special Award

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Friday 15 May 2015 at 10:03 PT