A. E. van Vogt

science fiction awards database

<—         —>

Awards Summary

Career and Special Awards: 4



Other Awards: 3

Total Number of Award Wins and Nominations: 19

— Career and Special Awards —
Living Inductee — winner

SFWA Grand Master Awardchosen by SF & Fantasy Writers of America officers

Aurora Awardsfor Canadian SF/F in English and in French, voted by members of annual convention
lifetime achievement — winner

Forry Awardfor lifetime achievement, presented by the Los Angeles Science Fantasy Society

— Major Awards —
Nebula Awardsfor SF/F works, voted by SF & Fantasy Writers of America professional membership
(1 nomination)

“Research Alpha” (by AEvV & James Schmitz) (If Jul 1965) — novella — nomination

— Locus Awards and Poll —
Locus Awardsfor SF/F/H works, polled by readers of Locus Magazine
(2 nominations)

Transfinite: The Essential A.E. van Vogt (NESFA Press) — collection — 8th place

“The Human Operators” (by Harlan Ellison & AEvV) (F&SF Jan 1971) — short fiction — 12th place

— Other Awards —
Prometheus Awardsfor SF works on libertarian themes, voted by members of the Libertarian Futurist Society
(2 nominations; 1 win)

The Weapon Shops of Isher — hall of fame — winner

The Weapon Shops of Isher — hall of fame — nomination

Retro Hugo Awardsfor SF works 50 years past, voted by members of the World SF Convention
(9 nominations; 1 win)

The Winged Man (by AEvV & E. Mayne Hull) (Astounding Science Fiction May-Jun 1944) — novel — nomination

“The Changeling” (Astounding Science Fiction Apr 1944) — novella — nomination

“Far Centaurus” (Astounding Science Fiction Jan 1944) — short story — nomination

The Weapon Makers (Astounding Science Fiction Feb,Mar,Apr 1943) — novel — nomination

“Asylum” (Astounding Science Fiction May 1942) — novella — nomination

“The Weapon Shop” (Astounding Science Fiction Dec 1942) — novelette — nomination

Slan (Astounding Science-Fiction Sep,Oct,Nov,Dec 1940) — novel — winner

The World of Null-A (Astounding Aug,Sep,Oct 1945) — novel — nomination

“The Mixed Men” (Astounding Jan 1945) — novelette — nomination

Worldcon Special Convention Awardspecial honors presented by the committee of the World SF Convention
(1 nomination; 1 win)

for six decades of golden age science fiction — winner

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Saturday 27 Nov 2021 at 11:16 PT