Hugo Awards 2019

science fiction awards database

SFWA Grand Master <— 2019 thread —> Nebula

2020 <— Hugo Awards —> 2018
Winners announced: August 18, 2019
Convention: Dublin 2019
Where: Dublin, Ireland

Eligibility Year: 2018
Associated Awards: John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (also listed below)
  • Winner: “If at First You Don't Succeed, Try, Try Again”, Zen Cho (B&N Sci-Fi and Fantasy Blog 29 Nov 2018)
  • “The Last Banquet of Temporal Confections”, Tina Connolly ( 11 Jul 2018)
  • “Nine Last Days on Planet Earth”, Daryl Gregory ( 19 Sep 2018)
  • The Only Harmless Great Thing, Brooke Bolander (
  • “The Things About Ghost Stories”, Naomi Kritzer (Uncanny Nov/Dec 2018)
  • “When We Were Starless”, Simone Heller (Clarkesworld Oct 2018)
Short Story
  • Winner: “A Witch's Guide to Escape: A Practical Compendium of Portal Fantasies”, Alix E. Harrow (Apex Feb 2018)
  • “The Court Magician”, Sarah Pinsker (Lightspeed Jan 2018)
  • “The Rose MacGregor Drinking and Admiration Society”, T. Kingfisher (Uncanny Nov/Dec 2018)
  • “The Secret Lives of the Nine Negro Teeth of George Washington”, P. Djčlí Clark (Fireside Feb 2018)
  • “STET”, Sarah Gailey (Fireside Oct 2018)
  • “The Tale of the Three Beautiful Raptor Sisters, and the Prince Who Was Made of Meat”, Brooke Bolander (Uncanny Jul/Aug 2018)
Related Work
  • Winner: Archive of Our Own (The Organization for Transformative Works) (
  • Astounding: John W. Campbell, Isaac Asimov, Robert A. Heinlein, L. Ron Hubbard, and the Golden Age of Science Fiction, Alec Nevala-Lee (Dey Street)
  • The Hobbit Duology, Lindsay Ellis & Angelina Meehan (YouTube)
  • An Informal History of the Hugos: A Personal Look Back at the Hugo Awards, 1953-2000, Jo Walton (Tor)
  • The Mexicanx Initiative Experience at Worldcon 76, Julia Rios, Libia Brenda, Pablo Defendini & John Picacio (
  • Ursula K. Le Guin: Conversations on Writing, Ursula K. Le Guin & David Naimon (Tin House Books)
Art Book
Graphic Story
Dramatic Presentation: Long Form
  • Winner: Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse (screenplay by Phil Lord and Rodney Rothman, directed by Bob Persichetti, Peter Ramsey and Rodney Rothman; Sony)
  • Annihilation (directed and written for the screen by Alex Garland, based on the novel by Jeff VanderMeer; Paramount Pictures / Skydance)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (screenplay by Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely, directed by Anthony Russo and Joe Russo; Marvel Studios)
  • Black Panther (written by Ryan Coogler and Joe Robert Cole, directed by Ryan Coogler; Marvel Studios)
  • A Quiet Place (screenplay by Scott Beck, John Krasinski and Bryan Woods, directed by John Krasinski; Platinum Dunes / Sunday Night)
  • Sorry to Bother You (written and directed by Boots Riley; Annapurna Pictures)
Dramatic Presentation: Short Form
  • Winner: The Good Place: “Janet(s)” (written by Josh Siegal & Dylan Morgan, directed by Morgan Sackett; NBC)
  • Dirty Computer (written by Janelle Monáe and Chuck Lightning, directed by Andrew Donoho and Chuck Lightning; Wondaland Arts Society / Bad Boy Records / Atlantic Records)
  • Doctor Who: “Demons of the Punjab” (written by Vinay Patel, directed by Jamie Childs; BBC)
  • Doctor Who: “Rosa” (written by Malorie Blackman and Chris Chibnall, directed by Mark Tonderai; BBC)
  • The Expanse: “Abaddon's Gate” (written by Daniel Abraham, Ty Franck and Naren Shankar, directed by Simon Cellan Jones; Penguin in a Parka / Alcon Entertainment)
  • The Good Place: “Jeremy Bearimy” (written by Megan Amram, directed by Trent O’Donnell; NBC))
Associated Awards


Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Friday 5 Jul 2024 at 10:51 PT