Hugo Awards 1990

science fiction awards database

<— 1990 thread —> Nebula

1991 <— Hugo Awards —> 1989
Where and When: ConFiction, The Hague, Netherlands : August 23, 1990 - August 27, 1990
Eligibility Year: 1989
Associated Awards: John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, Worldcon Special Convention Award (also listed below)
  • Winner: “Enter a Soldier. Later: Enter Another”, Robert Silverberg (Asimov's Jun 1989; Time Gate)
  • “At the Rialto”, Connie Willis (The Microverse; Omni Oct 1989)
  • “Dogwalker”, Orson Scott Card (Asimov's Nov 1989)
  • “Everything But Honor”, George Alec Effinger (Asimov's Feb 1989; What Might Have Been? Vol. 1: Alternate Empires)
  • “For I Have Touched the Sky”, Mike Resnick (F&SF Dec 1989)
  • “The Price of Oranges”, Nancy Kress (Asimov's Apr 1989)
Short Story
Nonfiction Book
Dramatic Presentation
  • Winner: Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade
  • The Abyss
  • The Adventures of Baron Munchhausen
  • Batman
  • Field of Dreams
Associated Awards

Original Artwork
  • Winner: Don Maitz for Rimrunners by C. J. Cherryh (Warner Questar)
  • Gary Ruddell for Hyperion by Dan Simmons (Doubleday Foundation)
  • Michael Whelan for Paradise by Mike Resnick (Tor)
  • James Gurney for Quozl by Alan Dean Foster (Ace)
  • Michael Whelan for The Renegades of Pern by Anne McCaffrey (Ballantine Del Rey)
  • James Gurney for The Stress of Her Regard by Tim Powers (Ace)
The original artwork category listed above was not a Hugo, but a special one-time category proposed by the ConFiction committee. Two years later it did become an official Hugo category, and lasted five years. (Though listed on this page, results in this special category are not figured in Hugo records and tallies.)

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Thursday 14 May 2015 at 14:30 PT