Hugo Awards 2015

science fiction awards database

SFWA Grand Master <— 2015 thread —> Nebula

2016 <— Hugo Awards —> 2014
Where and When: Sasquan, Spokane WA : August 22, 2015
Eligibility Year: 2014
Associated Awards: John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, Worldcon Special Convention Award (also listed below)
  • Winner: no award
  • Big Boys Don't Cry, Tom Kratman (Castalia House)
  • “Flow”, Arlan Andrews, Sr. (Analog Nov 2014)
  • One Bright Star to Guide Them, John C. Wright (Castalia House)
  • “Pale Realms of Shade”, John C. Wright (The Book of Feasts & Seasons Castalia House)
  • “The Plural of Helen of Troy”, John C. Wright (City Beyond Time: Tales of the Fall of Metachronopolis Castalia House)
  • Winner: “The Day the World Turned Upside Down”, Thomas Olde Heuvelt, translated by Lia Belt (Lightspeed Apr 2014)
  • “Ashes to Ashes, Dust to Dust, Earth to Alluvium”, Gray Rinehart (Orson Scott Card's Intergalactic Medicine Show May 2014)
  • “Championship B'tok”, Edward M. Lerner (Analog Sep 2014)
  • “The Journeyman: In the Stone House”, Michael F. Flynn (Analog Jun 2014)
  • “The Triple Sun: A Golden Age Tale”, Rajnar Vajra (Analog Jul/Aug 2014)
Short Story
  • Winner: no award
  • “On a Spiritual Plane”, Lou Antonelli (Sci Phi Journal #2 Nov 2014)
  • “The Parliament of Beasts and Birds”, John C. Wright (The Book of Feasts & Seasons Castalia House)
  • “A Single Samurai”, Steven Diamond (The Baen Big Book of Monsters Baen Books)
  • “Totaled”, Kary English (Galaxy's Edge Jul 2014)
  • “Turncoat”, Steve Rzasa (Riding the Red Horse Castalia House)
  • “Goodnight Stars”, Annie Bellet (The End is Now Broad Reach Publishing) [nomination declined]
Related Work
  • Winner: no award
  • “The Hot Equations: Thermodynamics and Military SF”, Ken Burnside (Riding the Red Horse Castalia House)
  • Letters from Gardner, Lou Antonelli (The Merry Blacksmith Press)
  • Transhuman and Subhuman: Essays on Science Fiction and Awful Truth, John C. Wright (Castalia House)
  • “Why Science is Never Settled”, Tedd Roberts (
  • Wisdom from My Internet, Michael Z. Williamson (Patriarchy Press)
Graphic Story
Dramatic Presentation: Long Form
  • Winner: Guardians of the Galaxy (written by James Gunn and Nicole Perlman, directed by James Gunn; Marvel Studios, Moving Picture Company)
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (screenplay by Christopher Markus & Stephen McFeely, concept and story by Ed Brubaker, directed by Anthony Russo and Joe Russo; Marvel Entertainment, Perception, Sony Pictures Imageworks)
  • Edge of Tomorrow (screenplay by Christopher McQuarrie, Jez Butterworth, and John-Henry Butterworth, directed by Doug Liman; Village Roadshow, RatPac-Dune Entertainment, 3 Arts Entertainment; Viz Productions)
  • Interstellar (screenplay by Jonathan Nolan and Christopher Nolan, directed by Christopher Nolan; Paramount Pictures, Warner Bros. Pictures, Legendary Pictures, Lynda Obst Productions, Syncopy)
  • The Lego Movie (written by Phil Lord & Christopher Miller, story by Dan Hageman, Kevin Hageman, Phil Lord & Christopher Miller, directed by Phil Lord & Christopher Miller; Warner Bros. Pictures)
Dramatic Presentation: Short Form
  • Winner: Orphan Black: “By Means Which Have Never Yet Been Tried” (written by Graham Manson, directed by John Fawcett; Temple Street Productions; Space/BBC America)
  • Doctor Who: “Listen” (written by Steven Moffat, directed by Douglas Mackinnon; BBC Television)
  • The Flash: “Pilot” (teleplay by Andrew Kreisberg & Geoff Johns, story by Greg Berlanti, Andrew Kreisberg & Geoff Johns, directed by David Nutter (The CW); Berlanti Productions, DC Entertainment, Warner Bros. Television)
  • Game of Thrones: “The Mountain and the Viper” (written by David Benioff & D.B. Weiss, directed by Alex Graves; HBO Entertainment in association with Bighead, Littlehead; Television 360; Startling Television and Generator Productions)
  • Grimm: “Once We Were Gods” (written by Alan DiFiore, directed by Steven DePaul (NBC); GK Productions, Hazy Mills Productions, Universal TV)
Associated Awards


Winners: This year's winners include first-time Hugos for Cixin Liu (Ken Liu has won twice before, for his own short stories), Thomas Olde Heuvelt, G. Willow Wilson, Adrian Alphona, Jake Wyatt, Wendy N. Wagner, Christie Yant, Alissa McKersie, Colin Harris, Helen Montgomery, Laura J. Mixon, Elizabeth Leggett, Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce, and Andrew Finch.

Finalists: This year's ballot has first-time Hugo nominations for Katherine Addison and Cixin Liu, whose novels are also a Nebula finalists this year.

Other first-time Hugo nominees include Ninna Aalto, Travis Alexander, Adrian Alphona, Kevin J. Anderson, Lou Antonelli (with 2 nominations this year), Annie Bellet (who has declined her nomination), Tim Bolgeo, Brent Bower, Jennifer Brozek, Ken Burnside, Sue Burtsztynski, Kristi Charish, Wendy Delmater, Kirk DouPonce, Kary English, Matt Fraction, Dave Freer, Amanda S. Green, Nick Greenwood, Jeffro Johnson, David Kernot, Marko Kloos (who has declined his nomination), Tom Kratman, Elizabeth Leggett, Edward M. Lerner, Alissa McKersie, Jim Minz, Laura J. Mixon, Dale Newton, John O'Neill, Alan Pollack, Carter Reid (with 2 nominations this year), Jason Rennie, Tedd Roberts, Steve Rzasa, Cedar Sanderson, Bryan Thomas Schmidt, Edmund R. Schubert, Moses Siregar III, Anne Sowards, Damien Swenson, Daniel Swenson, Scott Tomlin, Roc Upchurch, Rajnar Vajra, Wendy N. Wagner, Timothy C. Ward, Kurtis J. Weibe, Michael Z. Williamson, G. Willow Wilson, John C. Wright (with 5 nominations this year), Jake Wyatt, Christie Yant, and Chip Zdarsky.

Jim Butcher has one prior nomination, for graphic story in 2009. Ann Leckie has one prior nomination, and win, last year for Ancillary Justice. Her nominated novel this year is also a Nebula finalist and British SF winner. Vox Day has one prior nomination, for novelette last year.

Ken Liu has 3 prior nominations, with 2 wins, for short stories "The Paper Menagerie" and "Mono no Aware". John Joseph Adams has 8 prior Hugo nominations, with one win last year. James Bacon as 11 prior nominations, with one win, for fanzine, in 2011. Michael F. Flynn has 6 prior nominations, with no wins. Brad W. Foster has 26 prior nominations, with 8 wins. Mike Resnick has 36 prior nominations, with 5 wins. Steve Stiles has 13 prior nominations, with no wins.

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Sunday 1 May 2016 at 17:19 PT