Hugo Awards 2008

science fiction awards database

SFWA Grand Master <— 2008 thread —> Nebula

2009 <— Hugo Awards —> 2007
Where and When: Denvention 3, Denver CO : August 9, 2008
Eligibility Year: 2007
Associated Awards: John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, Worldcon Special Convention Award (also listed below)
  • Winner: “The Merchant and the Alchemist's Gate”, Ted Chiang (F&SF Sep 2007)
  • “The Cambist and Lord Iron: A Fairy Tale of Economics”, Daniel Abraham (Logorrhea ed John Klima, Bantam)
  • “Dark Integers”, Greg Egan (Asimov's Oct/Nov 2007)
  • “Finisterra”, David Moles (F&SF Dec 2007)
  • “Glory”, Greg Egan (The New Space Opera ed Gardner Dozois & Jonathan Strahan, Eos)
Short Story
  • Winner: “Tideline”, Elizabeth Bear (Asimov's Jun 2007)
  • “Distant Replay”, Mike Resnick (Asimov's Apr/May 2007)
  • “Last Contact”, Stephen Baxter (The Solaris Book of New Science Fiction ed George Mann, Solaris Books)
  • “A Small Room in Koboldtown”, Michael Swanwick (Asimov's Apr/May 2007; The Dog Said Bow-Wow Tachyon Publications)
  • “Who's Afraid of Wolf 359?”, Ken MacLeod (The New Space Opera ed Gardner Dozois & Jonathan Strahan, Eos)
Related Book
  • Winner: Brave New Words: The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction, Jeff Prucher (Oxford University Press)
  • The Arrival, Shaun Tan (Scholastic/Arthur A. Levine)
  • Breakfast in the Ruins: Science Fiction in the Last Millennium, Barry N. Malzberg (Baen)
  • The Company They Keep: C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien as Writers in Community, Diana Pavlac Glyer (Kent State University Press)
  • Emshwiller: Infinity x Two, Luis Ortiz (Nonstop)
Dramatic Presentation: Long Form
  • Winner: Stardust (Written by Jane Goldman & Matthew Vaughn, based on the novel by Neil Gaiman. Directed by Matthew Vaughn. Paramount Pictures)
  • Enchanted (Written by Bill Kelly. Directed by Kevin Lima. Walt Disney Pictures)
  • The Golden Compass (Written by Chris Weitz, based on the novel by Philip Pullman. Directed by Chris Weitz. New Line Cinema)
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Written by Michael Goldenberg, based on the novel by J.K. Rowling. Directed by David Yates. Warner Bros. Pictures)
  • Heroes, Season 1 (Created by Tim Kring. NBC Universal Television and Tailwind Productions)
Dramatic Presentation: Short Form
  • Winner: Doctor Who: “Blink” (Written by Stephen Moffat. Directed by Hettie Macdonald. BBC)
  • Battlestar Galactica: “Razor” (Written by Michael Taylor. Directed by Félix Enríquez Alcalá and Wayne Rose. Sci Fi Channel. [televised version, not DVD])
  • Doctor Who: “Human Nature"; "The Family of Blood” (Written by Paul Cornell. Directed by Charles Palmer. BBC)
  • Star Trek New Voyages: “World Enough and Time” (Written by Michael Reaves & Marc Scott Zicree. Directed by Marc Scott Zicree. Cawley Entertainment Co. and The Magic Time Co.)
  • Torchwood: “Captain Jack Harkness” (Written by Catherine Tregenna. Directed by Ashley Way. BBC Wales)
Associated Awards


Special Award
  • Winner: NASA (in honor of its 50th anniversary)
  • Winner: NESFA Press

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Friday 15 May 2015 at 10:02 PT