John W. Campbell Memorial Award 2015

science fiction awards database

Clarke <— 2015 thread —> Philip K. Dick

2016 <— John W. Campbell Memorial Award —> 2014
Where and When: Lawrence, KS : June 11, 2015 - June 14, 2015
Eligibility Year: 2014
Associated With: Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award
  • The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August, Claire North (Redhook)
Winner, 15 Jun 2015: This is Claire North's first Campbell win, and first award win in this database.

Finalists, 15 May 2015: William Gibson has been a Campbell finalist three times previously without having won. Adam Roberts has also been a Campbell finalist three times previously, and won in 2013 for Jack Glass. Peter Watts has been a finalist twice before, and Will McIntosh once before. Neither has won. All others this year are first-time Campbell finalists.

The Dave Hutchinson and Claire North titles were finalists for both the British SF Association and the Arthur C. Clarke awards (and lost); the Clarke award was won by the Emily St. John Mandel title here. Cixin Liu's novel is currently a finalist for the Hugo, Nebula, Locus, and Prometheus awards. Jeff VanderMeer's novel is currently a finalist for the Nebula, Shirley Jackson, and Locus awards.

The Campbell Awards site notes that "This year's list of finalists is longer than usual partly in response to controversy over other, non-juried awards, and partly because 2014 offered so many fine SF novels."

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Friday 17 Jun 2016 at 12:23 PT