John W Campbell Memorial Award

science fiction awards database

British SF <— Overview thread —> Chesley

  John W Campbell Memorial Award  
The John W. Campbell Memorial Award (not to be confused with the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer) is awarded each year to the best SF novel published in the US. It was the first major SF award established after the Hugos and Nebulas, and is distinguished from them by being a judged award, limited to novel.
SF novels published in English.
A permanent award, bearing the names of all winners, and since 2004 individual lucite trophies.
Where & When
At the annual Campbell Conference Awards Banquet, held in Lawrence, Kansas, in July.
Finalists and the winner are determined by a standing panel of judges (compiled here).
Founded by Harry Harrison and Brian Aldiss in 1972 to honor recently-deceased John W. Campbell, the influential editor of Astounding (later Analog) magazine from 1937 until his death in 1971.

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Sunday 31 May 2020 at 11:28 PT