World Fantasy Awards Tallies

science fiction awards database

Nebula <— Overview thread —> Andre Norton

  World Fantasy Awards  
Multiple Winners
Anthologists Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling have each won the WFA 9 times, while Jeffrey Ford has won it most often, 6 times, for works of fiction (including collections). Gene Wolfe has won 5 awards, the 5th in 2010.
Losers Club
Kim Newman has leaped to the front of those nominees with the most nominations and no wins, with 10; Joe R. Lansdale and Harry O. Morris Jr. follow with 9 each.
Never Even Nominated
Terry Brooks, David Eddings, Robert Jordan, Mercedes Lackey, Anne McCaffrey, and J.K. Rowling have never been even nominated for a WFA; nor has J.R.R. Tolkien, who preceded the awards.
Total World Fantasy Wins
(Number of fiction wins in parentheses)
10 Ellen Datlow, Terri Windling (1)
7 Jeffrey Ford (4)
5 Ramsey Campbell (3), Donald M. Grant, Rosalie Parker, Gene Wolfe (3)
4 Karen Joy Fowler (2), Elizabeth Hand (3), Stephen Jones, Stephen King (4), Margo Lanagan (3), R. B. Russell, Stuart David Schiff, Peter Straub (3), Jeff VanderMeer (1), Charles Vess (1)
Total World Fantasy Nominations
(Number of fiction nominations in parentheses)
[Number of wins in brackets]
49 Ellen Datlow [10]
33 Terri Windling (1) [10]
30 Stephen Jones [4]
23 Charles L. Grant (11) [3]
20 Stephen King (16) [4], Kelly Link (7) [3]
19 Charles de Lint (13) [2]
17 Jeff VanderMeer (4) [4], Lucius Shepard (13) [2]
World Fantasy Never-Winners
Number of nominations without ever having won
(Fiction nominations in parentheses)
11 Kim Newman (9)
9 Harry O. Morris, Jr., Joe R. Lansdale (4)
8 Lynne M. Thomas, Michael Damian Thomas, John Joseph Adams
7 John Jude Palencar, Martin H. Greenberg
6 Jerad Walters, Michael Marshall Smith (4), Scot Stadalsky, Paul Mikol
5 N. K. Jemisin (4), Julie Dillon, John Klima, Glen Hirshberg (3), Jill Bauman, David Pringle, Michael Bishop (5)
Total World Fantasy Losses
Number of times nominated but lost [Number of wins in bracket]
39 Ellen Datlow [10]
26 Stephen Jones [4]
23 Terri Windling [10]
20 Charles L. Grant [3]
17 Kelly Link [3], Charles de Lint [2]
16 Stephen King [4]
15 Lucius Shepard [2]

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Monday 30 Oct 2023 at 11:32 PT