Chesley Awards 2021

science fiction awards database
British SF <— 2021 thread —> Clarke

2023 <— Chesley Awards —> 2020
Winners announced: February 6, 2022
Where: Online

Eligibility Year: 2020
Cover Illustration, Hardcover
  • Winner: Corinne Reid for Encounters with the Imaginary Vol. 3 by Jeszika Le Vye & Kira Night, eds. (Boneshaker)
  • John Picacio for Black Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse (Saga)
  • Iris Compiet for The Dark Crystal Bestiary: The Definitive Guide to the Creatures of Thra by Adam Cesare (Insight)
  • Tommy Arnold for Harrow the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir (Tor)
  • Jason Mowry for Red Dragon by Thomas Harris (Suntup)
Cover Illustration, Paperback Or E-book
  • Winner: Charles Urbach for Ghost Riders in the Sky by Timothy Zahn (Swallow's End)
  • Scott Discher for Ashes of the Sun by Django Wexler (Orbit)
  • Rovina Cai for The Fourth Island by Sarah Tolmie (Tordotcom)
  • Ben Zweifel for The Thousand Deaths of Ardor Benn by Tyler Whitesides (Orbit)
  • Madolyn Locke for Valian Styrke: Knight of Fate by Reiter (Sylver Quill)
Magazine Illustration
Interior Illustration
  • Winner: Iris Compiet for The Dark Bestiary by Adam Cesare (Insight)
  • Ejiwa Ebenebe for “Boundless Unrivaled” (FIYAH #16)
  • Micah Epstein for The Case of the Somewhat Mythic Sword by Garth Nix (Tordotcom)
  • Michael Komarck for The Crippled God by Steven Erikson (Subterranean)
  • Audrey Benjaminsen for Hearts in the Ground by G. V. Anderson (Tordotcom)
  • Sija Hong for Monstrous Tales: Stories of Strange Creatures and Fearsome Beasts from around the World (Chronicle)
  • Jason Mowry for Red Dragon by Thomas Harris (Suntup)
Color Work, Unpublished
Monochrome Work, Unpublished
Gaming-related Illustration
  • Winner: “Sublime Epiphany”, Lindsey Look (Magic: the Gathering Core Set 2021)
  • “Cuombajj Witches”, Seb McKinnon (Magic: the Gathering Commander Legends)
  • Dissident Whispers cover, Jabari Weathers (Whisper Collective)
  • Overlight: The Lost Spire of Tziuhquatl, Joanna Barnum (Renegade Game Studios)
  • “Roswell Skateboard”, Christian Piccolo (Vicarious Visions)
  • “The Whispering Heart”, Charles Urbach (Ulisses Spiele)
Product Illustration
  • Winner: “A Clockwork Orange”, Wylie Beckert (MONDO Poster)
  • “Ad Astra”, Greg Ruth (MONDO Poster)
  • Genevieve Plush Mascot Plush, Heather Kreiter (Licensed for Gen Con)
  • “The Invisible Man”, Jason Edmiston (MONDO Poster)
  • La Maceta/The Flowerpot Loteria card, John Picacio (Lone Boy)
  • “Nine Songs”, Te Hu (Mural for the 14th China International Comic Festival in Guangzhou)
  • “Psyche”, Vanessa Lemen (Promo for Reckless Deck: PSYCHE)

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Tuesday 13 Feb 2024 at 13:14 PT