science fiction awards+ database

2022 World Fantasy Awards finalists

The 48th annual World Fantasy Awards finalists have been announced. Winners will be presented at the World Fantasy Convention in New Orleans, LA, later this year. Life Achievements Awards will be presented to Samuel R. Delany and Terri Windling.

Last year’s winners were Alaya Dawn Johnson, Tochi Onyebuchi, Celeste Rita Baker, Ann & Jeff VanderMeer, Aoko Matsuda, Rovina Cai, C.C. Finlay, and Brian Attebery, with Life Achievement awards to Megan Lindholm and Howard Waldrop.

Eight of this year’s finalists have won the World Fantasy Award before: Ellen Datlow (10 times), Jeffrey Ford (7), Irene Gallo (2), Elizabeth Hand (4), William K. Schafer (1), Angela Slatter (1), Sheree R. Thomas (2), and Charles Vess (4). In addition Terri Windling has won 9 times before, while Samuel R. Delany has never been cited for any World Fantasy Award until now.

Of this year’s five best novel finalists, only P. Djèlí Clark has been nominated before, twice; the other four are first-timers. Of the novella finalists, only Elizabeth Hand has been nominated before, 11 times with 4 wins. Of the short fiction finalists, Malik has been nominated once before, Clark twice before, and Pinsker twice before.

Of this year’s 50 different finalists, 29 of them, or 58%, are first-timers: Anders, Bacon, Bardot, Ghatia, Cho, Cuervo, Dinesh, Doubinsky, Ekpeki, Fawkes, Garcia, Goodwin, Guignard, Igbokwe, Khaw, Liu, Mohamed, Muffaz, Nguyen, Phin, Polydoros, Ransom, Ring, Shell, Skiba, Suri, Takeda, Ward, and Wise.

(Complete tallies.)

Cover images are from Amazon.

This article was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow comments with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are closed.

Copyright 2012 - 2023 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
Homepage and blog posts powered by WordPress. Custom design overlays BlankSlate theme by TidyThemes.