science fiction awards+ database

2022 British Fantasy finalists


The 51st annual British Fantasy Awards finalists have been announced. Winners will be announced at FantasyCon 2022 in September.

< >

Last year’s winners included novels The Once and Future Witches by Alix E. Harrow and Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia, and works by Zelda Knight & Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki, Charlotte Bond, P. Djèlí Clark, Ida Keogh, Alison Peirse.

Eleven of this year’s finalists have won the British Fantasy Award before: Daniele Serra (3 times), Ellen Datlow, Kieron Gillen, Stephanie Hans, and Catriona Ward (2 times each), and Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki, Alan Garner, Alix E. Harrow, Alasdair Stuart, and Tasha Suri (once each).

Of 61 distinct finalists this year, 34 of them, or 55% are first-timers, including Shelley Parker-Chan (twice this year), and Lorraine wilson and C.A. Yates (both thrice this year).

Some of this year’s most-nominated works for all awards so-far compiled are on this ballot, including Xiran Jay Zhao’s novel Iron Window (six nominations, including this indirect one), Isabel Yap’s collection Never Have I Ever (five), and four each for the novels by C.L. Clarke, Cassandra Khaw, and Shelley Parker-Chan, Ellen Datlow’s anthology, Ekpeki’s novelette “O2 Arena,” the collection by A.C. Wise, and the nonfiction by Nette & McIntyre.

(The most nominated works this year are P. Djèlí’ Clark’s A Master of Djinn (7) and Arkady Martine’s A Desolation Called Peace (6), with both works also nominated for last year’s Dragon Awards.)

This article was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow comments with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are closed.

Copyright 2012 - 2022 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
Homepage and blog posts powered by WordPress. Custom design overlays BlankSlate theme by TidyThemes.