SFRA Awards Winners By Category

science fiction awards database

SFF Translation <— Overview thread —> SFWA

  SFRA Awards  
2020 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011
2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001
2000 1999 1998 1997 1996 1995 1994 1993 1992 1991
1990 1989 1988 1987 1986 1985 1984 1983 1982 1981
Category Groups:
Pioneer Award | Clareson Award | Student Paper | Student Paper | Mary Kay Bray Award |
Pioneer Award
2018 “The Political Economy of Potato Farming in Andy Weir's The Martian”, Thomas Strychacz
2017 “Forms of Duration: Preparedness, the Mars Trilogy, and the Management of Climate Change”, Lindsay Thomas
2016 “‘Shutter-Stop Flash-Bulb Strange’: GMOs and the Aesthetics of Scale in Paolo Bacigalupi’s The Windup Girl”, Scott Selisker
2015 “Improbability Drives: The Energy of SF”, Graeme MacDonald
2014 “On the Double Vision of Realism and SF Estrangement in Gibson's Bigend Trilogy”, Jaak Tomberg
2013 “Future Histories and Cyborn Labor: Reading Borderlands Science Fiction after NAFTA”, Lysa Rivera
2012 “Toward a Cosmopolitan Science Fiction”, David M. Higgins
2011 “On Defining SF, or Not: Genre Theory, SF, and History”, John Reider
2010 “The Anatomical Gaze in Tomorrow's Eve”, Allison de Fren
2009 “Giving An Account of Oneself: Ethics, Alterity, Air”, Neil Easterbook
2007 “Oppositional Postcolonialism in Quebecois Science Fiction”, Amy J. Ransom
2006 “Redefining Women's Power Through Science Fiction”, Maria DeRose
2005 “The Women History Doesn't See: Recoverying Midcentury Women's SF as a Literature of Social Critique”, Lisa Yaszek
2004 “Thirteen Ways of Looking at the British Boom”, Andrew M. Butler
2003 “Omniphage: Rock 'n'Roll and Avant-Pop Science Fiction”, Lance Olsen
2002 “Science Fiction Without the Future”, Judith Berman
2001 “Changing Regimes: Vonda N. McIntyre's Parodic Astrofuturism”, De Witt Douglas Kilgore
2000 “Alien Cryptographies: The View from Queer”, Wendy Pearson
1999 “Kubrick's 2001 and the Possibility of a Science-Fiction Cinema”, Carl Freedman
1998 “Future-War Fiction: The First Main Phase, 1871-1900”, I. F. Clarke
1997 “Shifting Frontiers: Cyberpunk and the American South”, John Moore
1996 “How Should a Science Fiction Story End?”, Brian Stableford
1995 “The Many Deaths of Science Fiction: A Polemic”, Roger Luckhurst
1994 “Toward the Theoretical Frontiers of 'Fiction': From Metafiction and Cyberpunk Through Avant-Pop”, Larry McCaffery & Takayuki Tatsumi
1993 no award
1992 “The SF of Theory: Baudrillard and Haroway”, Istvan Csicsery-Ronay, Jr.
1991 “The Vietnam War as American SF and Fantasy”, H. Bruce Franklin
1990 “The Vampire and the Alien: Variations on the Outsider”, Veronica Hollinger
Clareson Award
2018 Veronica Hollinger
2017 Pawel Frelik
2016 Farah Mendlesohn
2015 Vonda N. McIntyre
2014 Lisa Yaszek
2013 Rob Latham
2012 Art Evans
2011 The Tiptree Motherboard
2010 David Mead
2009 Hal Hall
2008 Andy Sawyer
2007 Michael Levy
2006 Paul Kincaid
2005 Muriel Becker
2004 Patricia Warrick
2003 Joe Sanders
2002 Joan Gordon
2001 Donald "Mack" Hassler
2000 Arthur O. Lewis
1999 David G. Hartwell
1998 Elizabeth Anne Hull
1997 James Gunn
1996 Frederik Pohl
Student Paper
2018 “New Weird Frankenworlds: Speaking and Laboring Worlds in Cisco's Internet of Everything”, Josh Pearson
2017 Francis Gene-Rowe
2016 Dagmar Van Engen
2015 “’What is and What Should Never Be’: Paracosmic Utopianism in Margaret Cavendish’s The Blazing World”, W. Andrew Shepherd
2014 “'Wherever you go, there you are': Postmodern Pastiche and Oppositional Rhetoric in The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the Eighth Dimension”, Michael Jarvis
2013 “Beyond the Wide World's End: Themes of Cosmopolitanism in Alfred Bester's The Stars My Destination”, W. Andrew Shephard
2012 “Fantastic Voices: Octavia Butler’s First-Person Narrators and ‘The Evening and the Morning and the Night’”, Florian Bast
2011 “Tales of Archival Crisis: Stephenson's Reimagining of the Post-Apocalyptic Frontier”, Bradley Fest
2010 “Such Delight in Bloody Slaughter: R. A. Lafferty and the Dismemberment of the Body Grotesque”, Andrew Ferguson
2009 “The Imperial Unconscious: Samuel R. Delany's The Fall of the Towers”, David M. Higgins
2007 “Magic, Art, Religion, Science: Blurring the Boundaries of Science and Science Fiction in Marge Piercy's Cyborgian Narrative”, Linda Wight
2004 “Single Cyborg Seeking Same: The Post-Human and the Problem of Loneliness”, Melissa Colleen Stevenson
2003 “Speculating about Gendered Evolution: Bram Stoker's White Worm and the Horror of Sexual Selection”, Sarah Canfield Fuller
2002 “Homotopia? Or What's Behind a Prefix?”, Wendy Pearson
2001 “Out of the Western Box: Rethinking Popular Cultural Categories from the Perspective of East German Science Fiction Studies”, Sonja Fritzsche
2000 “'Resistance is Futile,' We Are Already Assimilated: Cyborging, Cyborg Societies, Cyborgs, and The Matrix”, Shelley Rodrigo Blanchard
Mary Kay Bray Award
2018 Hugh C. O'Connell, for his review of Jack Fennell’s Irish Science Fiction
2017 A. P. Canavan
2016 Amy Ransom
2015 “A Roundtable: Under the Skin [film]”, Marleen S. Barr, Pawel Frelik & Andy Hageman
2014 “Narrative, Archive, Database: The Digital Humanities and Science Fiction Scholarship 101”, Lisa Yaszek
2013 “Terraforming 101”, Chris Pak
2012 “Review of Rise of the Planet of the Apes”, T. S. Miller
2011 “Southern Portable Panic: Frederico Álvarez's Ataque de Pánico!”, Alfredo Suppia
2010 “Mundane SF 101”, Ritch Calvin
2009 Sandor Klapcsik, for his review of Rewired in SFRAR #284
2007 Ed Carmien, for review of The Space Opera Renaissance in SFRAReview
2004 Bruce A. Beatie, for review of L. Frank Baum, Creator of Oz by Katharine M. Rogers
2003 Farah Mendlesohn, for her review of Kim Stanley Robinson's The Years of Rice and Salt
2002 “Transforming the Subject: Humanity, The Body, and Posthumanism”, Karen Hellekson

Copyright 2012 - 2021 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Friday 4 May 2018 at 13:52 PT