Nebula Awards 2017

science fiction awards database

Hugo <— 2017 thread —> World Fantasy

<— Nebula Awards —> 2016
Where and When: Pittsburgh PA : May 20, 2017
Eligibility Year: 2016
Associated Awards: Ray Bradbury Award, Andre Norton Award, SFWA Grand Master Award (also listed below)
  • Winner: “The Long Fall Up”, William Ledbetter (F&SF May/Jun 2016)
  • “Blood Grains Speak Through Memories”, Jason Sanford (Beneath Ceaseless Skies 17 Mar 2016)
  • The Jewel and Her Lapidary, Fran Wilde (
  • “The Orangery”, Bonnie Jo Stufflebeam (Beneath Ceaseless Skies 8 Dec 2016)
  • “Sooner or Later Everything Falls Into the Sea”, Sarah Pinsker (Lightspeed Feb 2016)
  • “You'll Surely Drown Here If You Stay”, Alyssa Wong (Uncanny May/Jun 2016)
Short Story
  • Winner: “Seasons of Glass and Iron”, Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood)
  • “A Fist of Permutations in Lightning and Wildflowers”, Alyssa Wong ( 2 Mar 2016)
  • “Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies”, Brooke Bolander (Uncanny Nov/Dec 2016)
  • “Sabbath Wine”, Barbara Krasnoff (Clockwork Phoenix 5)
  • “Things With Beards”, Sam J. Miller (Clarkesworld Jun 2016)
  • “This Is Not a Wardrobe Door”, A. Merc Rustad (Fireside Jan 2016)
  • “Welcome to the Medical Clinic at the Interplanetary Relay Station | Hours Since the Last Patient Death: 0”, Caroline M. Yoachim (Lightspeed Mar 2016)
Associated Awards

  • Arrival (Directed by Denis Villeneuve, Screenplay by Eric Heisserer, 21 Laps Entertainment/FilmNation Entertainment/Lava Bear Films/Xenolinguistics)
  • Doctor Strange (Directed by Scott Derrickson, Screenplay by Scott Derrickson & C. Robert Cargill, Marvel Studios/Walt Disney Studio Motion Pictures)
  • Kubo and the Two Strings (Directed by Travis Knight, Screenplay by Mark Haimes & Chris Butler; Laika Entertainment)
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (Directed by Gareth Edwards, Written by Chris Weitz & Tony Gilroy; Lucusfilm/ Walt Disney Studio Motion Pictures)
  • Westworld: “The Bicameral Mind” (Directed by Jonathan Nolan, Written by Lisa Joy & Jonathan Nolan; HBO)
  • Zootopia (Directed by Byron Howard, Rich Moore, & Jared Bush, Screenplay by Jared Bush & Phil Johnston; Walt Disney Pictures/Walt Disney Animation Studios)


This year's ballot has first-time Nebula nominations -- and first entries in this entire index -- for Mishell Baker, S.B. Divya, Barbara Krasnoff, and John P. Murphy.

Only three of this year's nominees have won Nebulas before: Kij Johnson has won 3 times, out of 5 previous nominations; Sarah Pinsker won last year, out of three previous nominations; Alyssa Wong won last year, out of two previous nominations.

Nominees on this year's ballot who've been most nominated before, without having won: N.K. Jemisin, with five prior nominations, and Amal El-Mohtar, with two prior nominations.

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Thursday 27 Jul 2017 at 11:12 PT