science fiction awards+ database

2022 Otherwise Award winners and honor list


< >

The Otherwise Award winners and honor list titles for works published in 2021 have been announced. Winners are Light from Uncommon Stars by Ryka Aoki, and Sorrowland by Rivers Solomon.

The Otherwise Award, formerly the James Tiptree, Jr. Award, goes to works of science fiction or fantasy that “expand and explore our understanding of gender.” This is the third year the Otherwise Award has been given; the Tiptree Award was given from 1992 to 2019.

(Note that for consistency on this site these are considered the “2022” Otherwise Awards, despite the belated announcement of the results in January 2023.)


This article was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow comments with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are closed.

Copyright 2012 - 2023 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
Homepage and blog posts powered by WordPress. Custom design overlays BlankSlate theme by TidyThemes.