Ignyte Awards

science fiction awards database

Eugie <— Overview thread —> International Fantasy

  Ignyte Awards  
2030 2029 2028 2027 2026 2025 2024 2023 2022 2021
2020 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011
The Ignyte Awards "celebrate the vibrancy and diversity of the current and future landscapes of science fiction, fantasy, and horror by recognizing incredible feats in storytelling and outstanding efforts toward inclusivity of the genre."
Novels, short fiction, critic, podcast, artist, plus an "Ember Award for Unsung Contributions to Genre" and a "Community Award for Outstanding Efforts in Service of Inclusion and Equitable Practice in Genre"
Finalists are chosen by a committee associated with FIYAHCON; voting is open to the public.
— Winners by Year —
— 2021 — Black Sun, Rebecca Roanhorse (adult novel)
  Legendborn, Tracy Deonn (YA novel)
  Ghost Squad, Claribel A. Ortega (middle grade novel)
  Riot Baby, Tochi Onyebuchi (novella)
  The Inaccessibility of Heaven, Aliette de Bodard (novelette)
  “You Perfect, Broken Thing”, C. L. Clark (short story)
  “The Harrowing”, Gabriel Ascencio Morales, translated by Juan Martínez (poetry)
  Stitch (critics award)
  Nightlight Podcast, Tonia Ransom (fiction podcast)
  Odera Igbokwe (artist)
  Parable of the Sower, Octavia Butler, adapted by Damian Duffy, illustrated by John Jennings (comics team)
  A Phoenix First Must Burn, Patrice Caldwell, ed. (anthology/collected works)
  “I Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream: The Duty of the Black Writer During Times of American Unrest”, Tochi Onyebuchi (creative nonfiction)
  Dhonielle Clayton (Ember award)
  #PublishingPaidMe, L. L. McKinney & Tochi Onyebuchi (Community award)
— 2020 — Gods of Jade and Shadow, Silvia Moreno-Garcia (adult novel)
  We Hunt the Flame, Hafsah Faizal (YA novel)
  Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky, Kwame Mbalia (middle grade novel)
  This Is How You Lose the Time War, Amal El-Mohtar & Max Gladstone (novella)
  “Emergency Skin”, N. K. Jemisin (novelette)
  “A Brief Lesson in Native American Astronomy”, Rebecca Roanhorse (short story)
  “A Conversation Between the Embalmed Heads of Lampião and Maria Bonita on Public Display at the Baiano State Forensic Institute, Circa Mid-20th Century”, Woody Dismukes (poetry)
  Alex Brown (critics award)
  LeVar Burton Reads, LeVar Burton, et al (fiction podcast)
  Grace P. Fong (artist)
  These Savage Shores, Ram V, et al (comics team)
  New Suns: Original Speculative Fiction by People of Color, Nisi Shawl, ed. (anthology/collected works)
  “Black Horror Rising”, Tananarive Due (creative nonfiction)
  LeVar Burton (Ember award)
  Strange Horizons (Community Award)

Copyright 2012 - 2021 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Sunday 21 Nov 2021 at 16:46 PT