Locus Awards 2016

science fiction awards database

Tiptree <— 2016 thread —> Analog Poll

2017 <— Locus Awards —> 2015
Where and When: Seattle WA : June 25, 2016
Eligibility Year: 2015
Sf Novel
  1. Winner: Ancillary Mercy, Ann Leckie (Orbit)
  2. Seveneves, Neal Stephenson (Morrow)
  3. The Water Knife, Paolo Bacigalupi (Borzoi; Orbit UK)
  4. Aurora, Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit)
  5. A Borrowed Man, Gene Wolfe (Tor)
Fantasy Novel
  1. Winner: Uprooted, Naomi Novik (Del Rey)
  2. The Fifth Season, N. K. Jemisin (Orbit)
  3. Karen Memory, Elizabeth Bear (Tor)
  4. The House of Shattered Wings, Aliette de Bodard (Roc; Gollancz)
  5. Wylding Hall, Elizabeth Hand (PS Publishing; Open Road)
Young Adult Book
  1. Winner: The Shepherd's Crown, Terry Pratchett (Harper; Doubleday UK)
  2. Half a War, Joe Abercrombie (Del Rey; Harper Voyager UK)
  3. Half the World, Joe Abercrombie (Del Rey)
  4. Shadowshaper, Daniel José Older (Levine)
  5. Harrison Squared, Daryl Gregory (Tor)
First Novel
  1. Winner: The Grace of Kings, Ken Liu (Saga)
  2. Sorcerer to the Crown, Zen Cho (Ace; Macmillan UK)
  3. Signal to Noise, Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Solaris)
  4. The Sorcerer of the Wildeeps, Kai Ashante Wilson (
  5. The Watchmaker of Filigree Street, Natasha Pulley (Bloomsbury)
  1. Winner: Slow Bullets, Alastair Reynolds (Tachyon)
  2. Penric's Demon, Lois McMaster Bujold (self-published)
  3. Binti, Nnedi Okorafor (
  4. “The Citadel of Weeping Pearls”, Aliette de Bodard (Asimov's Oct/Nov 2015)
  5. “The Four Thousand, the Eight Hundred”, Greg Egan (Asimov's Dec 2015)
  1. Winner: “Black Dog”, Neil Gaiman (Trigger Warning)
  2. “Folding Beijing”, Hao Jingfang (Uncanny Jan/Feb 2015)
  3. “And You Shall Know Her by the Trail of Dead”, Brooke Bolander (Lightspeed Feb 2015)
  4. “Another Word for World”, Ann Leckie (Future Visions)
  5. “The Heart's Filthy Lesson”, Elizabeth Bear (Old Venus)
Short Story
  1. Winner: “Cat Pictures Please”, Naomi Kritzer (Clarkesworld Jan 2015)
  2. “The Dowager of Bees”, China Miéville (Three Moments of an Explosion)
  3. “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers”, Alyssa Wong (Nightmare Oct 2015)
  4. “Three Cups of Grief, by Starlight”, Aliette de Bodard (Clarkesworld Jan 2015)
  5. “Madeleine”, Amal El-Mohtar (Lightspeed Jun 2015)
  1. Winner: Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances, Neil Gaiman (Morrow)
  2. Three Moments of an Explosion, China Miéville (Macmillan UK; Del Rey)
  3. The Best of Gregory Benford, Gregory Benford (Subterranean)
  4. Dancing Through the Fire, Tanith Lee (Fantastic Books)
  5. The Best of Nancy Kress, Nancy Kress (Subterranean)
  1. Winner: Old Venus, George R. R. Martin & Gardner Dozois, eds. (Bantam)
  2. The Year's Best Science Fiction: Thirty-second Annual Collection, Gardner Dozois, ed. (St. Martin's Griffin)
  3. Stories for Chip: A Tribute to Samuel R. Delany, Nisi Shawl & Bill Campbell, eds. (Rosarium)
  4. Hanzai Japan: Fantastical, Futuristic Stories of Crime From and About Japan, Nick Mamatas & Masumi Washington, eds. (Haikasoru)
  5. Meeting Infinity, Jonathan Strahan, ed. (Solaris)
  1. Winner: Letters to Tiptree, Alisa Krasnostein & Alexandra Pierce, eds. (Twelfth Planet)
  2. The Culture Series of Iain M. Banks, Simone Caroti (McFarland)
  3. Ray Bradbury, David Seed (University of Illinois Press)
  4. Lois McMaster Bujold, Edward James (University of Illinois Press)
  5. Frederik Pohl, Michael R. Page (University of Illinois Press)
Art Book
  1. Winner: Julie Dillon's Imagined Realms, Book 2: Earth and Sky, Julie Dillon (self-published)
  2. Women of Wonder: Celebrating Women Creators of Fantastic Art, Cathy Fenner, ed. (Underwood)
  3. Edward Gorey: His Book Cover Art & Design, Steven Heller, ed. (Pomegranate)
  4. Spectrum 22: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art, John Fleskes, ed. (Flesk)
  5. The Fantasy Illustration Library, Volume One: Lands & Legends, Malcolm R. Phifer & Michael C. Phifer (Michael Publishing)
  1. Winner: Asimov's
  3. F&SF
  4. Clarkesworld
  5. File 770
  1. Winner: Tor
  2. Orbit
  3. Baen
  4. Subterranean
  5. Gollancz

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Friday 12 Jun 2020 at 10:54 PT