Science Fiction Hall of Fame

science fiction awards database
<— Overview thread —> SFWA Grand Master

  Science Fiction Hall of Fame  
The Science Fiction Hall of Fame was founded in 1996 by the Kansas City Science Fiction and Fantasy Society, and by the Center for the Study of Science Fiction at the University of Kansas (which supervises the Campbell and Sturgeon Memorial Awards). Four individuals are honored each year, usually (through 2010) two living and two posthumous.

In 2016 procedures changed, with nominations taken from the public, and large number of inductees chosen, now under the perview of the Museum of Pop Culture.
— Winners by Year —
— 2020 — D. C. Fontana (creator)
  Ted Chiang (creator)
  Star Wars (work)
  Watchmen (work)
— 2019 — Vonda N. McIntyre (creator)
  Neil Gaiman (creator)
  Doctor Who (work)
  Magic the Gathering (work)
— 2018 — J. K. Rowling
  Buffy the Vampire Slayer
  Stan Lee
  The Legend of Zelda
— 2017 — Jack Kirby (creator)
  George Orwell (creator)
  Margaret Atwood (creator)
  H. P. Lovecraft (creator)
  Douglas Adams (creator)
  Madeleine L'Engle (creator)
  Terry Pratchett (creator)
  Guillermo del Toro (creator)
  C. S. Lewis (creator)
  Jim Henson (creator)
  John Williams (creator)
  Rumiko Takahashi (creator)
  Leonard Nimoy (creator)
  Terry Gilliam (creator)
  Keith David (creator)
  The X-Files (work)
  2001: A Space Odyssey (work)
  Myst (work)
  Blade Runner (work)
  The Princess Bride (work)
  Dungeons & Dragons (work)
  Star Trek (work)
  Wonder Woman (work)
  The Matrix (work)
— 2015 — Jack Gaughan
  Kurt Vonnegut
  Georges Méliès
  James Gunn
  John Schoenherr
— 2014 — Hayao Miyazaki
  Stanley Kubrick
  Olaf Stapledon
  Leigh Brackett
  Frank Frazetta
— 2013 — J. R. R. Tolkien
  Judith Merril
  David Bowie
  Joanna Russ
  H. R. Giger
— 2012 — Virgil Finlay
  James Cameron
  Joe Haldeman
  James Tiptree, Jr.
— 2011 — Moebius
  Harlan Ellison
  Gardner Dozois
  Vincent Di Fate
— 2010 — Roger Zelazny
  Richard Matheson
  Douglas Trumbull
  Octavia E. Butler
— 2009 — Frank R. Paul
  Edward L. Ferman
  Connie Willis
  Michael Whelan
— 2008 — William Gibson (Living Inductee)
  Ian Ballantine & Betty Ballantine (Living Inductee)
  Richard Powers (Posthumous Inductee)
  Rod Serling (Posthumous Inductee)
— 2007 — Gene Wolfe (Living Inductee)
  Ridley Scott (Living Inductee)
  Gene Roddenberry (Posthumous Inductee)
  Ed Emshwiller (Posthumous Inductee)
— 2006 — Anne McCaffrey (Living Inductee)
  George Lucas (Living Inductee)
  Frank Herbert (Posthumous Inductee)
  Kelly Freas (Posthumous Inductee)
— 2005 — Steven Spielberg (Living Inductee)
  Ray Harryhausen (Living Inductee)
  Philip K. Dick (Posthumous Inductee)
  Chesley Bonestell (Posthumous Inductee)
— 2004 — Harry Harrison (Living Inductee)
  Brian W. Aldiss (Living Inductee)
  Mary Shelley (Posthumous Inductee)
  E. E. "Doc" Smith (Posthumous Inductee)
— 2003 — Kate Wilhelm (Living Inductee)
  Wilson Tucker (Living Inductee)
  Edgar Rice Burroughs (Posthumous Inductee)
  Damon Knight (Posthumous Inductee)
— 2002 — Samuel R. Delany (Living Inductee)
  Michael Moorcock (Living Inductee)
  Donald Wollheim (Posthumous Inductee)
  James Blish (Posthumous Inductee)
— 2001 — Jack Vance (Living Inductee)
  Ursula K. Le Guin (Living Inductee)
  Alfred Bester (Posthumous Inductee)
  Fritz Leiber (Posthumous Inductee)
— 2000 — Gordon R. Dickson (Living Inductee)
  Poul Anderson (Living Inductee)
  Theodore Sturgeon (Posthumous Inductee)
  Eric Frank Russell (Posthumous Inductee)
— 1999 — Ray Bradbury (Living Inductee)
  Robert Silverberg (Living Inductee)
  A. Merritt (Posthumous Inductee)
  Jules Verne (Posthumous Inductee)
— 1998 — Frederik Pohl (Living Inductee)
  Hal Clement (Living Inductee)
  C. L. Moore (Posthumous Inductee)
  Robert A. Heinlein (Posthumous Inductee)
— 1997 — Andre Norton (Living Inductee)
  Arthur C. Clarke (Living Inductee)
  H. G. Wells (Posthumous Inductee)
  Isaac Asimov (Posthumous Inductee)
— 1996 — A. E. van Vogt (Living Inductee)
  Jack Williamson (Living Inductee)
  John W. Campbell (Posthumous Inductee)
  Hugo Gernsback (Posthumous Inductee)

Copyright 2012 - 2023 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Saturday 25 Jul 2020 at 16:45 PT