Brian Attebery

science fiction awards database

<—         —>

Awards Summary

Career and Special Awards: 2

Major Awards: 1


Other Awards: 3

Total Number of Award Wins and Nominations: 12

Times Served as Judge: 2

— Career and Special Awards —
IAFA Awardsfor scholarship, grad student, and service, presented by IAFA
— Distinguished Scholarship — winner

Pilgrim Awardfor lifetime contribution to SF and fantasy scholarship

— Major Awards —
World Fantasy Awardsfor Fantasy works; juried, with nominations from World Fantasy Con members
(1 nomination; 1 win)

for Journal of the Fantastic in the Arts — special award, non-professional — winner

British Fantasy Awardsfor fantasy works published in the UK, voted by British Fantasy Society members, juried since 2012
(1 nomination)

Fantasy: How It Works (Oxford University Press) — non-fiction — nomination

— Locus Awards and Poll —
Locus Awardsfor SF/F/H works, polled by readers of Locus Magazine
(4 nominations)

Fantasy: How It Works (Oxford University Press) — nonfiction — 3rd place

Parabolas of Science Fiction (BA & Veronica Hollinger, eds.) (Wesleyan) — non-fiction — 10th place

The Norton Book Of Science Fiction (Ursula K. Le Guin & BA, eds.) (Norton) — anthology — 5th place

Strategies of Fantasy (Indiana University Press) — nonfiction — 14th place

— Other Awards —
Mythopoeic Awardsfor fantasy works in the spirit of the Inklings, voted by members of the Mythopoeic Society
(4 nominations; 3 wins)

Fantasy and Myth in the Anthropocene: Imagining Futures and Dreaming Hope in Literature and Media (Marek Oziewicz, BA & Teresa Dedinová, eds.) (Bloomsbury Academic) — myth and fantasy studies — nomination -- pending

Fantasy: How It Works (Oxford University Press) — myth and fantasy studies — winner

Stories About Stories: Fantasy and the Remaking of Myth (Oxford University Press) — myth and fantasy studies — winner

Strategies of Fantasy — scholarship/myth — winner

— As Judge —
Philip K. Dick Awardfor SF original paperback published in the US, juried

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Tuesday 19 Sep 2023 at 10:08 PT