Mythopoeic Awards 2008

science fiction awards database

Peter McNamara <— 2008 thread —> Emperor Norton

2009 <— Mythopoeic Awards —> 2007
Where and When: Mythcon XXXIX,
Eligibility Year: 2007
Adult Literature
Children's Literature
  • Winner: The Harry Potter Series, J. K. Rowling (Bloomsbury)
  • Dussie, Nancy Springer (Walker)
  • The New Policeman, Kate Thompson (HarperTeen)
  • Skulduggery Pleasant, Derek Landy (HarperCollins)
  • Tithe: A Modern Faerie Tale; Valiant: A Modern Tale of Faerie; Ironside: A Modern Faery's Tale, Holly Black (Simon & Schuster)
Inklings Studies
  • Winner: The Company They Keep: C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien as Writers in Community, Diana Pavlac Glyer, appendix by David Bratman (Kent State University Press)
  • The History of the Hobbit, Part One, Mr Baggins; Part Two, Return to Bag-End, John D. Rateliff (Houghton Mifflin)
  • Interrupted Music: The Making of Tolkien's Mythology, Verlyn Flieger (Kent State University Press)
  • Perilous Realms: Celtic and Norse in Tolkien's Middle-earth, Marjorie Burns (University of Toronto Press)
  • The Ring of Words: Tolkien and the Oxford English Dictionary, Peter Gilliver, Jeremy Marshall & Edmund Weiner (Oxford University Press)
Myth And Fantasy Studies
  • Winner: The Shadow-Walkers: Jacob Grimm's Mythology of the Monstrous, T. A. Shippey, ed. (Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies)
  • Four British Fantasists: Place and Culture in the Children's Fantasies of Penelope Lively, Alan Garner, Diana Wynne Jones, and Susan Cooper, Charles Butler (Scarecrow Press)
  • From Asgard to Valhalla: The Remarkable History of the Norse Myths, Heather O'Donoghue (I.B. Taurus)
  • The Lure of the Vampire: Gender, Fiction and Fandom from Bram Stoker to Buffy, Milly Williamson (Wallflower)
  • Oz in Perspective: Magic and Myth in the Frank L. Baum Books, Richard Carl Tuerk (McFarland)

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Friday 10 Aug 2012 at 09:41 PT