The Best of the Nebulas

science fiction awards database
Drake World Upside Down <— Anthologies & Collections —>
Ben Bova, ed.

Tor, 1989

Published in 1989 and celebrating the first 25 years of the Nebula Awards, this anthology is the result of a vote by SFWA members in 1987 to select the very best of the Nebula Awards winners during that period. The vote included novels, with a list of titles included (on page 12), and essays by the authors, though the novels themselves are obviously not included in the book.

  1. “The Doors of His Face, the Lamps of His Mouth”, Roger Zelazny (F&SF Mar 1965)
  2. “"Repent, Harlequin!" Said the Ticktockman”, Harlan Ellison (Galaxy Dec 1965)
  3. “He Who Shapes”, Roger Zelazny (Amazing Jan 1965 (+1))
  4. “Aye, and Gomorrah...”, Samuel R. Delany (Dangerous Visions, 1967)
  5. “Passengers”, Robert Silverberg (Orbit 4, 1968)
  6. “Behold the Man”, Michael Moorcock (New Worlds #166 1966)
  7. “When It Changed”, Joanna Russ (Again, Dangerous Visions, 1972)
  8. “Gonna Roll the Bones”, Fritz Leiber (Dangerous Visions, 1967)
  9. “Dragonrider”, Anne McCaffrey (Analog Dec 1967 (+1))
  10. “Love Is the Plan the Plan Is Death”, James Tiptree, Jr. (The Alien Condition, 1973)
  11. “Time Considered as a Helix of Semi-Precious Stones”, Samuel R. Delany (New Worlds Dec 1968)
  12. “A Boy and His Dog”, Harlan Ellison (New Worlds Apr 1969)
  13. “The Day Before the Revolution”, Ursula K. Le Guin (Galaxy Aug 1974)
  14. “Slow Sculpture”, Theodore Sturgeon (Galaxy Feb 1970)
  15. “Houston, Houston, Do You Read?”, James Tiptree, Jr. (Aurora: Beyond Equality, 1976)
  16. “Catch That Zeppelin!”, Fritz Leiber (F&SF Mar 1975)
  17. “Of Mist, and Grass, and Sand”, Vonda N. McIntyre (Analog Oct 1973)
  18. “The Persistence of Vision”, John Varley (F&SF Mar 1978)
  19. “Grotto of the Dancing Deer”, Clifford D. Simak (Analog Apr 1980)
  20. “Sandkings”, George R. R. Martin (Omni Aug 1979)
  21. “Jeffty Is Five”, Harlan Ellison (F&SF Jul 1977)

Copyright 2012 - 2021 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Thursday 15 Oct 2015 at 11:06 PT