Hugo Awards 2023

science fiction awards database

SFWA Grand Master <— 2023 thread —> Nebula

2024 <— Hugo Awards —> 2022
Winners announced: October 21, 2023
Convention: Chengdu Worldcon
Where: Chengdu, China

Eligibility Year: 2022
Associated Awards: Astounding Award for Best New Writer., Lodestar Award (also listed below)
  • Winner: “The Space-Time Painter”, Hai Ya (Galaxy's Edge Apr 2022)
  • “The Difference Between Love and Time”, Catherynne M. Valente (Someone in Time)
  • “A Dream of Electric Mothers”, Wole Talabi (Africa Risen)
  • “If You Find Yourself Speaking to God, Address God with the Informal You”, John Chu (Uncanny Jul/Aug 2022)
  • “Murder By Pixel: Crime and Responsibility in the Digital Darkness”, S. L. Huang (Clarkesworld Dec 2022)
  • “We Built This City”, Marie Vibbert (Clarkesworld Jun 2022)
Short Story
  • Winner: “Rabbit Test”, Samantha Mills (Uncanny Nov/Dec 2022)
  • “D.I.Y.”, John Wiswell ( 24 Aug 2022)
  • “On the Razor's Edge”, Jiang Bo (Science Fiction World Jan 2022)
  • “Resurrection”, Ren Qing (Future Fiction/Science Fiction World Dec 2022)
  • “The White Cliff”, Lu Ban (Science Fiction World May 2022)
  • “Zhurong on Mars”, Regina Kanyu Wang (Frontiers Sep 2022)
Related Work
  • Winner: Terry Pratchett: A Life With Footnotes, Rob Wilkins (Doubleday)
  • Blood, Sweat & Chrome: The Wild and True Story of Mad Max: Fury Road, Kyle Buchanan (William Morrow)
  • Buffalito World Outreach Project, Lawrence M. Schoen (Paper Golem)
  • Chinese Science Fiction: An Oral History, Volume 1, Yang Feng (Chengdu Times Press)
  • “The Ghost of Workshops Past”, S. L. Huang ( 17 Aug 2022)
  • Still Just a Geek: An Annotated Memoir, Wil Wheaton (William Morrow)
Graphic Story Or Comic
Dramatic Presentation: Long Form
  • Winner: Everything Everywhere All at Once (screenplay by Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, directed by Daniel Kwan and Daniel Sheinert (IAC Films / Gozie AGBO))
  • Avatar: The Way of Water (screenplay by James Cameron, Rick Jaffa, and Amanda Silver, directed by James Cameron (Lightstorm Entertainment / TSG Entertainment II))
  • Black Panther: Wakanda Forever (screenplay by Ryan Coogler and Joe Robert Cole, directed by Ryan Coogler (Marvel Studios))
  • Nope (written by Jordan Peele, directed by Jordan Peele (Universal Pictures / Monkeypaw Productions))
  • Severance (written by Dan Erickson, Anna Ouyang Moench et al., directed by Ben Stiller and Aoife McArdle (Red Hour Productions / Fifth Season))
  • Turning Red (screenplay by Julia Cho and Domee Shi, directed by Domee Shi (Walt Disney Studios / Pixar Animation Studios))
Dramatic Presentation: Short Form
  • Winner: The Expanse: “Babylon's Ashes” (written by Daniel Abraham, Ty Franck, Naren Shankar, directed by Breck Eisner (Alcon Entertainment))
  • Andor: “One Way Out” (written by Beau Willimon, Tony Gilroy, and George Lucas, directed by Toby Haynes (Lucasfilm))
  • Andor: “Rix Road” (written by Tony Gilroy and George Lucas, directed by Benjamin Caron (Lucasfilm))
  • For All Mankind: “Strange in a Strange Land” (written by Matt Wolpert and Ben Nedivi, directed by Craig Zisk (Tall Ship Productions/Sony Pictures Television))
  • She-Hulk: Attorney at Law: “Whose Show is This?” (written by Jessica Gao, Francesca Gailes, and Jacqueline Gailes, directed by Kat Coiro (Marvel Entertainment))
  • Stranger Things: “Chapter Four: Dear Billy” (written by Matt Duffer, Ross Duffer, and Paul Dichter, directed by Shawn Levy (21 Laps Entertainment))
Associated Awards



Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Tuesday 9 Apr 2024 at 11:41 PT