Hugo Awards 1989

science fiction awards database

SFWA Grand Master <— 1989 thread —> Nebula

1990 <— Hugo Awards —> 1988
Where and When: Noreascon III, Boston MA : August 31, 1989 - September 4, 1989
Eligibility Year: 1988
Associated Awards: John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, Worldcon Special Convention Award (also listed below)
  • Winner: “The Last of the Winnebagos”, Connie Willis (Asimov's Jul 1988)
  • “The Calvin Coolidge Home for Dead Comedians”, Bradley Denton (F&SF Jun 1988)
  • “Journals of the Plague Years”, Norman Spinrad (Full Spectrum)
  • The Scalehunter's Beautiful Daughter, Lucius Shepard (Mark V. Ziesing; Asimov's Sep 1988)
  • “Surfacing”, Walter Jon Williams (Asimov's Apr 1988)
Short Story
Nonfiction Book
  • Winner: The Motion of Light in Water: Sex and Science Fiction Writing in the East Village 1957-1965, Samuel R. Delany (Arbor House/Morrow)
  • A Biographical Dictionary of Science Fiction and Fantasy Artists, Robert Weinberg (Greenwood)
  • First Maitz, Don Maitz (Ursus Imprints)
  • The New Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, James Gunn, ed. (Viking)
  • Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Horror: 1987, Charles N. Brown & William G. Contento (Locus Press)
Dramatic Presentation
  • Winner: Who Framed Roger Rabbit
  • Alien Nation
  • Beetlejuice
  • Big
  • Willow
Professional Artist
Associated Awards

Special Award
  • Winner: Alex Schomburg, for lifetime achievement in science fiction art
  • Winner: SF-Lovers Digest, for pioneering the use of computer bulletin boards in fandom
Nominations for Beese and Hamilton's novel The Guardian, and for Hamilton as Professional Artist, were removed from the final ballot after the convention committee observed an apparent pattern of bloc voting. Beese and Hamilton remained nominated for the Campbell New Writer award since they enough nominations without the apparent bloc votes. A group of enthusiastic New York area fans was later discovered to be responsible for the votes, exonerating Beese and Hamilton.

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Friday 15 May 2015 at 10:03 PT