C. J. Cherryh

science fiction awards database

<—         —>
<—           —>

Awards Summary

Career and Special Awards: 3

Major Awards: 3

Locus Awards: 1

Other Awards: 4

Total Number of Award Wins and Nominations: 84

Times Served as Judge: 1

— Career and Special Awards —
SFWA Grand Master Awardchosen by SF & Fantasy Writers of America officers

Robert A. Heinlein Awardfor hard SF inspiring space exploration, presented by the Heinlein Society

Skylark Awardfor contribution to SF in the spirit of E.E. "Doc" Smith; presented by NESFA

— Major Awards —
Hugo Awardsfor SF/F works, voted by members of annual World Science Fiction Convention
(7 nominations; 3 wins)

Cyteen (Warner) — novel — winner

Cuckoo's Egg (Phantasia; DAW) — novel — nomination

“The Scapegoat ” (Alien Stars) — novella — nomination

The Pride of Chanur (DAW) — novel — nomination

Downbelow Station (DAW) — novel — winner

The Faded Sun: Kesrith (Galaxy Feb,Mar,Apr,May 1978; DAW) — novel — nomination

“Cassandra ” (F&SF Oct 1978) — short story — winner

Nebula Awardsfor SF/F works, voted by SF & Fantasy Writers of America professional membership
(2 nominations)

The Faded Sun: Kesrith (Galaxy Feb,Mar,Apr,May 1978; DAW) — novel — nomination

“Cassandra ” (F&SF Oct 1978) — short story — nomination

World Fantasy Awardsfor Fantasy works; juried, with nominations from World Fantasy Con members
(2 nominations)

“Gwydion and the Dragon ” (Once Upon a Time: A Treasury of Modern Fairy Tales) — novella — nomination

Ealdwood (Donald M. Grant) — novella — nomination

British SF Association Awardsfor SF works published in the UK, voted by British SF Association members
(1 nomination)

Cyteen (NEL) — novel — nomination

John W. Campbell Memorial Awardfor SF novel published in US or UK; juried
(1 nomination)

Hammerfall (Eos) — finalist

Philip K. Dick Awardfor SF original paperback published in the US, juried
(1 nomination)

Voyager in Night (DAW) — finalist

— Locus Awards and Poll —
Locus Awardsfor SF/F/H works, polled by readers of Locus Magazine
(51 nominations; 1 win)

Visitor (DAW) — sf novel — 6th place

Protector (DAW) — sf novel — 6th place

Intruder (DAW) — sf novel — 10th place

The Collected Short Fiction of C. J. Cherryh (DAW) — collection — 2nd place

Defender (DAW) — sf novel — 5th place

Fortress of Dragons (Eos) — fantasy novel — 10th place

Precursor (DAW) — sf novel — 7th place

Fortress of Owls (HarperPrism) — fantasy novel — 3rd place

Fortress of Eagles (HarperPrism) — fantasy novel — 5th place

Finity's End (Warner) — sf novel — 5th place

Inheritor (DAW) — sf novel — 7th place

Invader (DAW) — sf novel — 3rd place

Fortress in the Eye of Time (HarperPrism) — fantasy novel — 3rd place

Foreigner (DAW) — sf novel — 3rd place

Tripoint (Warner Aspect) — sf novel — 17th place

Faery in Shadow (Legend; Science Fiction Book Club) — fantasy novel — 11th place

Chanur's Legacy (DAW) — sf novel — 7th place

Hellburner (Warner Questar) — sf novel — 14th place

Heavy Time (Warner Questar) — sf novel — 7th place

Rimrunners (Warner) — sf novel — 2nd place

Rusalka (Ballantine Del Rey) — fantasy novel — 4th place

Cyteen (Warner) — sf novel — winner

The Paladin (Baen) — fantasy novel — 2nd place

Chanur's Homecoming (Phantasia; DAW) — sf novel — 6th place

Visible Light (Phantasia) — collection — 4th place

Cuckoo's Egg (Phantasia; DAW) — sf novel — 9th place

The Kif Strike Back (Phantasia; DAW) — sf novel — 14th place

“The Scapegoat ” (Alien Stars) — novella — 6th place

Chanur's Venture (Phantasia; DAW) — sf novel — 5th place

“The Scapegoat ” (Alien Stars) — novella — 2nd place

Forty Thousand in Gehenna (Phantasia) — sf novel — 18th place

The Dreamstone (DAW) — fantasy novel — 8th place

The Tree of Swords and Jewels (DAW) — fantasy novel — 17th place

Merchanter's Luck (DAW) — sf novel — 9th place

The Pride of Chanur (DAW) — sf novel — 4th place

“Willow ” (Hecate's Cauldron) — novelette — 2nd place

Downbelow Station (DAW) — sf novel — 3rd place

The Pride of Chanur (DAW) — sf novel — 21st place

Wave without a Shore (DAW) — sf novel — 30th place (tie)

Ealdwood (Donald M. Grant) — novella — 7th place

“The Haunted Tower” (Sunfall) — novelette — 4th place

“The Only Death in the City” (Sunfall) — short story — 4th place

Sunfall (DAW) — single author collection — 3rd place

Serpent's Reach (DAW) — sf novel — 7th place

The Faded Sun: Kutath (DAW) — sf novel — 6th place

Fires of Azeroth (DAW) — fantasy novel — 6th place

The Faded Sun: Kesrith (DAW) — novel — 4th place

The Faded Sun: Shon'jir (DAW) — novel — 19th place

“Cassandra ” (F&SF Oct 1978) — short story — 6th place

Hunter of Worlds (DAW) — sf novel — 12th place

Brothers of Earth (DAW) — novel — 10th place

— Other Awards —
Balrog Awardsfor fantasy works, presented an annual FoolsCon in Kansas City
(5 nominations; 1 win)

“A Thief in Korianth ” (Flashing Swords #5: Demons and Daggers) — short fiction — winner

Fires of Azeroth (DAW) — novel — nomination

“The Dreamstone ” (Amazons!) — short fiction — nomination

professional achievement — nomination

professional achievement — nomination

Endeavour Awardfor best book by a Pacific Northwest writer, juried
(4 nominations)

Tracker (DAW) — finalist

Protector (DAW) — finalist

Fortress of Ice (Eos) — finalist

Destroyer (DAW) — finalist

HOMer Awardsfor SF/F works, voted by members of SF/F forum on CompuServe
(2 nominations)

Precursor (DAW) — novel — nomination

Invader (DAW) — novel — nomination

Interzone Readers Pollfor stories published in Interzone magazine, polled by readers
(1 nomination)

all-time best sf author — 20th place (tie)

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writerfor new SF/F writer, voted by members of annual World SF con
(1 nomination; 1 win)


Prometheus Awardsfor SF works on libertarian themes, voted by members of the Libertarian Futurist Society
(2 nominations; 1 win)

Alliance Rising (by CJC & Jane S. Fancher) (DAW) — novel — winner

Finity's End (Warner) — novel — nomination

Science Fiction Chronicle Readers Pollfor SF/F works, polled by readers of Science Fiction Chronicle magazine
(1 nomination; 1 win)

Cyteen (Warner) — novel — winner

— As Judge —
World Fantasy Awardsfor Fantasy works; juried, with nominations from World Fantasy Con members

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Saturday 14 Aug 2021 at 12:52 PT