Asimovs Reader Poll Winners By Category

science fiction awards database

ASFA Web <— Overview thread —> Astounding New Writer

  Asimovs Reader Poll  
Category Groups:
novel/novella | novella | novelette | short story | poem | cover art | interior artist | special award |
2018 “I Met a Traveller in an Antique Land”, Connie Willis
2017 “Lazy Dog Out”, Suzanne Palmer
2016 “Inhuman Garbage”, Kristine Kathryn Rusch
2015 “The Legion of Tomorrow”, Allen M. Steele
2014 “The Application of Hope”, Kristine Kathryn Rusch
2013 “Murder Born”, Robert Reed
2012 “The Man Who Bridged the Mist”, Kij Johnson
2011 “Becoming One with the Ghosts”, Kristine Kathryn Rusch
2010 “Broken Windchimes”, Kristine Kathryn Rusch
2009 “The Room of Lost Souls”, Kristine Kathryn Rusch
2008 “Recovering Apollo 8”, Kristine Kathryn Rusch
2007 “The Walls of the Universe”, Paul Melko
2006 “Diving Into the Wreck”, Kristine Kathryn Rusch
2005 “Liberation Day”, Allen M. Steele
2004 “Ariel”, Lucius Shepard
2003 “Breathmoss”, Ian R. MacLeod
2002 “Stealing Alabama”, Allen Steele
2001 “Oracle”, Greg Egan
2000 “Hunting the Snark”, Mike Resnick
1999 “Oceanic”, Greg Egan
1998 “…Where Angels Fear to Tread”, Allen Steele
1997 “Gas Fish”, Mary Rosenblum
1996 “A Woman's Liberation”, Ursula K. Le Guin
1995 “Forgiveness Day”, Ursula K. Le Guin
1994 “Dancing on Air”, Nancy Kress
1993 (tie) “Cleon the Emperor”, Isaac Asimov
1993 (tie) “Barnacle Bill the Spacer”, Lucius Shepard
1992 “Beggars In Spain”, Nancy Kress
1991 “Mr. Boy”, James Patrick Kelly
1990 “A Touch of Lavender”, Megan Lindholm
1989 “The Last of the Winnebagos”, Connie Willis
1988 “Mother Goddess of the World”, Kim Stanley Robinson
1987 “Spice Pogrom”, Connie Willis
2018 “Books of the Risen Sea”, Suzanne Palmer
2017 “I Married a Monster from Outer Space”, Dale Bailey
2016 “Lock Up Your Chickens and Daughters--H'ard and Andy Are Come to Town!”, Michael Swanwick & Gregory Frost
2015 “The Common Good”, Nancy Kress
2014 “Over There”, Will McIntosh
2013 “The Way of the Needle”, Derek Künsken
2012 “All About Emily”, Connie Willis
2011 “The Emperor of Mars”, Allen M. Steele
2010 “Blood Dauber”, Ted Kosmatka & Michael Poore
2009 “The Ray-Gun: A Love Story”, James Alan Gardner
2008 “Dark Integers”, Greg Egan
2007 “Yellow Card Man”, Paolo Bacigalupi
2006 “Second Person, Present Tense”, Daryl Gregory
2005 “The Garcia Narrows Bridge”, Allen M. Steele
2004 “The Bellman”, John Varley
2003 “The Wild Girls”, Ursula K. Le Guin
2002 “Into Greenwood”, Jim Grimsley
2001 “On the Orion Line”, Stephen Baxter
2000 “The Chop Girl”, Ian R. MacLeod
1999 “Echea”, Kristine Kathryn Rusch
1998 “We Will Drink a Fish Together...”, Bill Johnson
1997 “The Flowers of Aulit Prison”, Nancy Kress
1996 “Think Like a Dinosaur”, James Patrick Kelly
1995 “Cocoon”, Greg Egan
1994 “Inn”, Connie Willis
1993 “The Nutcracker Coup”, Janet Kagan
1992 “Understand”, Ted Chiang
1991 “Getting the Bugs Out”, Janet Kagan
1990 “The Loch Moose Monster”, Janet Kagan
1989 “Dowser”, Orson Scott Card
1988 “Rachel in Love”, Pat Murphy
1987 “The Prisoner of Chillon”, James Patrick Kelly
short story
2018 “Crimson Birds of Small Miracles”, Sean Monaghan
2017 “All That Robot…”, Rich Larson
2017 “The Mutants Men Don't See”, James Alan Gardner
2016 “Tuesdays”, Suzanne Palmer
2015 “The Plantimal”, Ken Liu & Mike Resnick
2014 (tie) “The New Guys Always Work Overtime”, David Erik Nelson
2014 (tie) “The Wall”, Naomi Kritzer
2013 (tie) “Final Exam”, Megan Arkenberg
2013 (tie) “Sexy Robot Mom”, Sandra McDonald
2012 “Movement”, Nancy Fulda
2011 (tie) “Libertarian Russia”, Michael Swanwick
2011 (tie) “The Lovely Ugly”, Carol Emshwiller
2010 “Bridesicle”, Will McIntosh
2009 “26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss”, Kij Johnson
2008 “Tideline”, Elizabeth Bear
2007 “Impossible Dreams”, Tim Pratt
2006 “The Children of Time”, Stephen Baxter
2005 “Travels with My Cats”, Mike Resnick
2004 “Coyote at the End of History”, Michael Swanwick
2003 “She Sees My Monsters Now”, Robert Reed
2002 “Old MacDonald Had a Farm”, Mike Resnick
2001 “The Elephants on Neptune”, Mike Resnick
2000 “Ancient Engines”, Michael Swanwick
1999 “Radiant Doors”, Michael Swanwick
1998 “The 43 Antarean Dynasties”, Mike Resnick
1997 “Decency”, Robert Reed
1996 “Life on the Moon”, Tony Daniel
1995 “Digital Music”, Alan Gordon
1994 “Martin on a Wednesday”, Nancy Kress
1993 “Even the Queen”, Connie Willis
1992 “A Walk in the Sun”, Geoffrey A. Landis
1991 “Bears Discover Fire”, Terry Bisson
1990 “Windwagon Smith and the Martians”, Lawrence Watt-Evans
1989 “A Midwinter's Tale”, Michael Swanwick
1988 “Why I Left Harry's All-Night Hamburgers”, Lawrence Watt-Evans
1987 “Robot Dreams”, Isaac Asimov
2018 “Titan's Magic Islands”, Geoffrey A. Landis
2017 “After”, Herb Kauderer
2016 “1,230 Grams of Einstein”, Robert Frazier
2015 “In the Quiet Hour”, Bruce Boston
2014 “Rivers”, Geoffrey A. Landis
2013 “Future History”, Joe Haldeman
2012 “Five Pounds of Sunlight”, Geoffrey A. Landis
2011 “Welcome Home”, Janis Ian
2010 “Edgar Allan Poe”, Bryan D. Dietrich
2009 “Deaths on Other Planets”, Joanne Merriam
2008 “The Dimensional Rush of Relative Primes”, Bruce Boston
2007 “Remembering the Future”, Darrell Schweitzer
2006 “Newton's Mass”, Timons Esaias
2005 “Heavy Weather”, Bruce Boston
2004 “Alternate History”, Maureen F. McHugh
2003 “Eight Things Not to Do or Say When a Mad Scientist Moves into Your Neighborhood”, Bruce Boston
2002 “January Fires”, Joe Haldeman
2001 “10 Things You Can't Do Inside a Space Helmet”, G. O. Clark
2000 “Christmas (after we all got time machines)”, Geoffrey A. Landis
1999 “egg horror poem”, Laurel Winter
1998 “why goldfish shouldn't use power tools”, Laurel Winter
1997 “Curse of the Science Fiction Writer's Wife”, Bruce Boston
1996 “Curse of Bruce Boston's Wife”, Scott L. Towner
1995 “when the voices”, W. Gregory Stewart
1994 “Curse of the Shapeshifter's Wife”, Bruce Boston
1993 “A Robot's Farewell to the Master”, Ace G. Pilkington
1992 “Angels Fly Because They Take Themselves Lightly”, Jane Yolen
1991 “A Dragon's Yuletide Shopping List”, Robert Frazier & James Patrick Kelly
1990 “Old Robots Are the Worst”, Bruce Boston
1988 “The Famous Hospitality of Dao'i”, J. J. Hunt
cover art
2018 Eldar Zakirov for Asimov's Nov/Dec 2017
2017 Donato Giancola for
2016 Maurizio Manzieri for Asimov's Oct/Nov 2015
2015 Maurizio Manzieri for Asimov's Jun 2014
2014 Kinuko Craft for Asimov's Sep 2013
2013 Laura Diehl for Asimov's Dec 2012
2012 Paul Youll for Asimov's Oct/Nov 2011
2011 (tie) Tomislav Tikulin for Asimov's Jul 2010
2011 (tie) Michael Whelan for Asimov's Aug 2010
2010 John Picacio for Asimov's Sep 2009
2009 (tie) Thomasz Maronski for Asimov's Mar 2008
2009 (tie) John Picacio for Asimov's Sep 2008
2008 Donato Giancola for Asimov's Jul 2007
2007 J. K. Potter for Asimov's Mar 2006
2006 Michael Whelan for Asimov's Jan 2005
2005 Donato Giancola for Asimov's Aug 2004
2004 Jim Burns
2003 Dominic Harman
2002 Michael Carroll
2001 Bob Eggleton
2000 Jim Burns
1999 John Foster
1998 Chris Moore
1997 Wojtek Siudmak
1996 Bob Eggleton
1995 Bob Eggleton
1994 Wojtek Siudmak
1993 Bob Eggleton
1992 (tie) Gary Freeman
1992 (tie) Bob Eggleton
1991 Michael Whelan
1990 Keith Parkinson
1989 Hisaki Yasuda
1988 Bob Eggleton
interior artist
2003 Michael Carroll
2002 Darryl Elliot
2001 Darryl Elliott
2000 Darryl Elliott
1999 Alan Giana
1998 Darryl Elliott
1997 Darryl Elliott
1996 Ron Chironna
1995 Gary Freeman
1994 Steve Cavallo
1993 Gary Freeman
1992 Laura Lakey
1991 Janet Aulisio
1990 Janet Aulisio
1989 Laura Lakey
1988 J. K. Potter
special award
1988 “I, Robot: The Movie”, Harlan Ellison

Copyright 2012 - 2021 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Friday 12 Jun 2020 at 11:03 PT