The American Book Awards

science fiction awards database
Sunburst <— Overview thread —> Tour Eiffel

  The American Book Awards  
1980 1979 1978 1977 1976 1975 1974 1973 1972 1971
The American Book Awards (TABA) were a short-lived variation of the well-known National Book Awards, a variation with expanded categories for genre works and paperback reprints. The category for SF lasted only one year.
The awards were intended to expand the scope of traditional literary awards by involving publishers, booksellers, and librarians, as well as writers and critics, in the administrative and voting board. Writers and critics objected (see Boycott TABA from New York Review of Books). The awards were presented from 1980 through 1983, after which the traditional National Book Awards were re-instated.

Copyright 2012 - 2023 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Friday 10 Aug 2012 at 09:44 PT