The Mirror of Infinity

science fiction awards database
Knight Golden Road <— Anthologies & Collections —> Silverberg Arbor SF
Robert Silverberg, ed.

Harper & Row, 1970

Published before any of the teaching anthologies or academic overviews, The Mirror of Infinity, subtitled "A Critics' Anthology of Science Fiction", was the first book to combine stories with critical analysis. Each story is prefaced by a ~3-5 page critical essay; critics include Jack Williamson, James Blish, Damon Knight, Kingsley Amis, Alexei Pansion, and Brian W. Aldiss.

Page numbers here are taken from the 1973 paperback edition.

  1. “The Star”, H. G. Wells (The Graphic Christmas 1897)
  2. “Twilight”, John W. Campbell, Jr. (Astounding Nov 1934)
  3. “Nightfall”, Isaac Asimov (Astounding Sep 1941)
  4. “Private Eye”, Henry Kuttner & C. L. Moore, as by Lewis Padgett (Astounding Jan 1949)
  5. “The Sentinel”, Arthur C. Clarke (Ten Story Fantasy Spr 1951)
  6. “Specialist”, Robert Sheckley (Galaxy May 1953)
  7. “Common Time”, James Blish (Science Fiction Quarterly Aug 1953)
  8. “The Game of Rat and Dragon”, Cordwainer Smith (Galaxy Oct 1955)
  9. “'All You Zombies—'”, Robert A. Heinlein (F&SF)
  10. “The Subliminal Man”, J. G. Ballard (New Worlds Jan 1963)
  11. “I Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream”, Harlan Ellison (If Mar 1967)
  12. “The Heat Death of the Universe”, Pamela Zoline (New Worlds Jul 1967)
  13. “The Library of Babel”, Jorge Luis Borges (Ficciones, 1962)

Copyright 2012 - 2021 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Friday 22 Aug 2014 at 12:48 PT