Science Fiction Hall of Fame Volume Two A

science fiction awards database
Hall of Fame V1 <— Anthologies & Collections —> Hall of Fame V2b
Ben Bova, ed.

Doubleday, 1973

This is the first of a two-volume follow-up to the first Science Fiction Hall of Fame, consisting of longer stories than those in Volume One. A similar process of polling SFWA members was conducted, and considering the lengths of the stories, the results were split into two volumes.

As in Volume One, certain constraints made some of the voted stories unable to appear in the published volumes. These stories include Ray Bradbury's "The Fireman" (later expanded as Fahrenheit 451), Walter M. Miller, Jr.'s "A Canticle for Leibowitz" (later expanded into a novel of the same name), and Robert A. Heinlein's "By His Bootstraps" (since ground rules allowed only one story per author, and Heinlein's "Universe" was included instead).

  1. “Call Me Joe”, Poul Anderson (Astounding Apr 1957)
  2. “Who Goes There?”, John W. Campbell, Jr., as by Don A. Stuart (Astounding Aug 1938)
  3. “Nerves”, Lester del Rey (Astounding Sep 1942)
  4. “Universe”, Robert A. Heinlein (Astounding May 1941)
  5. “The Marching Morons”, C. M. Kornbluth (Galaxy Apr 1951)
  6. “Vintage Season”, Henry Kuttner & C. L. Moore, as by Lawrence O'Donnell (Astounding Sep 1946)
  7. “...And Then There Were None”, Eric Frank Russell (Astounding Jun 1951)
  8. “The Ballad of Lost C'Mell”, Cordwainer Smith (Galaxy Oct 1962)
  9. “Baby Is Three”, Theodore Sturgeon (Galaxy Oct 1952)
  10. “The Time Machine”, H. G. Wells
  11. “With Folded Hands...”, Jack Williamson (Astounding Jul 1947)

Copyright 2012 - 2021 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Tuesday 19 Aug 2014 at 15:42 PT