The Fantasy Hall of Fame

science fiction awards database
Hall of Fame V2b <— Anthologies & Collections —> Horror Hall of Fame
Robert Silverberg & Martin H. Greenberg, eds.

Arbor House, 1983

This first Fantasy Hall of Fame is analogous to the earlier Science Fiction volumes, in that the scope was limited to the year before the advent of the relevant award, in this case, the World Fantasy Awards first presented in 1975. Members of the World Fantasy Conventions in 1981 and 1982 were asked to vote for stories to be included in this anthology.

  1. “The Masque of the Red Death”, Edgar Allan Poe (Graham's Lady’s and Gentleman’s Magazine May 1842)
  2. “An Inhabitant of Carcosa”, Ambrose Bierce (San Francisco Newsletter Dec 25 1886)
  3. “The Sword of Welleran”, Lord Dunsany (The Sword of Welleran and Other Stories, 1908)
  4. “The Women of the Wood”, A. Merritt (The Fox Woman & Other Stories, 1949)
  5. “The Weird of Avoosl Wuthoqquan”, Clark Ashton Smith (Weird Tales Jun 1932)
  6. “The Valley of the Worm”, Robert E. Howard (Weird Tales Feb 1934)
  7. “Black God's Kiss”, C. L. Moore (Weird Tales Oct 1934)
  8. “The Silver Key”, H. P. Lovecraft (Weird Tales Jan 1929)
  9. “Nothing in the Rules”, L. Sprague de Camp (Unknown Jul 1939)
  10. “A Gnome There Was”, Henry Kuttner (Unknown Oct 1941)
  11. “Snulbug”, Anthony Boucher (Unknown Dec 1941)
  12. “The Words of Guru”, C. M. Kornbluth (Stirring Science Stories Jun 1941)
  13. “Homecoming”, Ray Bradbury (Mademoiselle Oct 1946)
  14. “Mazirian the Magician”, Jack Vance (The Dying Earth, 1950)
  15. “O Ugly Bird!”, Manly Wade Wellman (F&SF Dec 1951)
  16. “The Silken-Swift”, Theodore Sturgeon (F&SF Nov 1953)
  17. “The Golem”, Avram Davidson (F&SF Mar 1955)
  18. “That Hell-Bound Train”, Robert Bloch (F&SF Sep 1958)
  19. “Kings in Darkness”, Michael Moorcock (Science-Fantasy Aug 1962)
  20. “Pretty Maggie Moneyeyes”, Harlan Ellison (Knight May 1967)
  21. “Gonna Roll the Bones”, Fritz Leiber (Dangerous Visions, 1967)
  22. “The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas”, Ursula K. Le Guin (New Dimensions 3, 1973)

Copyright 2012 - 2021 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Tuesday 19 Aug 2014 at 15:42 PT