World Fantasy Awards Tallies

science fiction awards database

Nebula <— Overview thread —> Andre Norton

  World Fantasy Awards  
Multiple Winners
Anthologists Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling have each won the WFA 9 times, while Jeffrey Ford has won it most often, 6 times, for works of fiction (including collections). Gene Wolfe has won 5 awards, the 5th in 2010.
Losers Club
Kim Newman has leaped to the front of those nominees with the most nominations and no wins, with 10; Joe R. Lansdale and Harry O. Morris Jr. follow with 9 each.
Never Even Nominated
Terry Brooks, David Eddings, Robert Jordan, Mercedes Lackey, Anne McCaffrey, and J.K. Rowling have never been even nominated for a WFA; nor has J.R.R. Tolkien, who preceded the awards.
Total World Fantasy Wins
(Number of fiction wins in parentheses)
10 Ellen Datlow
9 Terri Windling
7 Jeffrey Ford (4)
5 Ramsey Campbell (3), Donald M. Grant, Rosalie Parker, Gene Wolfe (3)
4 Elizabeth Hand (3), Stephen Jones, Stephen King (4), Margo Lanagan (3), Stuart David Schiff, Peter Straub (3), Charles Vess (1)
Total World Fantasy Nominations
(Number of fiction nominations in parentheses)
[Number of wins in brackets]
45 Ellen Datlow [10]
31 Terri Windling [9]
30 Stephen Jones [4]
23 Charles L. Grant (11) [3]
20 Stephen King (16) [4]
19 Charles de Lint (13) [2], Kelly Link (7) [3]
17 Lucius Shepard (13) [2]
World Fantasy Never-Winners
Number of nominations without ever having won
(Fiction nominations in parentheses)
11 Kim Newman (9)
9 Harry O. Morris, Jr., Joe R. Lansdale (4)
8 John Joseph Adams
7 John Jude Palencar, Martin H. Greenberg
6 Paul Mikol, Scot Stadalsky, Michael Marshall Smith (4), Jerad Walters
5 Glen Hirshberg (3), John Klima, Michael Bishop (5), N. K. Jemisin (4), Jill Bauman, David Pringle
Total World Fantasy Losses
Number of times nominated but lost [Number of wins in bracket]
35 Ellen Datlow [10]
26 Stephen Jones [4]
22 Terri Windling [9]
20 Charles L. Grant [3]
17 Charles de Lint [2]
16 Stephen King [4], Kelly Link [3]
15 Lucius Shepard [2]

Copyright 2012 - 2020 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Monday 4 Nov 2019 at 09:55 PT