The Locus Awards

science fiction awards database
Best of Nebulas <— Anthologies & Collections —>
Charles N. Brown & Jonathan Strahan, eds.

Eos, 2004

This is a selection of 18 stories that won Locus Awards, which are deteremined by poll by readers of Locus Magazine. The introduction describes the methodology of the selection: "We've gone through the thirty years of winners and picked what we think are the best."

  1. “The Death of Dr. Island”, Gene Wolfe (Universe 3, 1973)
  2. “The Day Before the Revolution”, Ursula K. Le Guin (Galaxy Aug 1974)
  3. “Jeffty Is Five”, Harlan Ellison (F&SF Jul 1977)
  4. “The Persistence of Vision”, John Varley (F&SF Mar 1978)
  5. “The Way of Cross and Dragon”, George R. R. Martin (Omni Jun 1979)
  6. “Souls”, Joanna Russ (F&SF Jan 1982)
  7. “Bloodchild”, Octavia E. Butler (IASFM Jun 1984)
  8. “The Only Neat Thing to Do”, James Tiptree, Jr. (F&SF Oct 1985)
  9. “Rachel in Love”, Pat Murphy (IASFM Apr 1987)
  10. “The Scalehunter's Beautiful Daughter”, Lucius Shepard
  11. “Bears Discover Fire”, Terry Bisson (IASFM Aug 1990)
  12. “Buffalo”, John Kessel (F&SF Jan 1991)
  13. “Even the Queen”, Connie Willis (IASFM Apr 1992)
  14. “Gone”, John Crowley (F&SF Sep 1996)
  15. “Maneki Neko”, Bruce Sterling (F&SF May 1998)
  16. “Border Guards”, Greg Egan (Interzone Oct 1999)
  17. “Hell Is the Absence of God”, Ted Chiang (Starlight 3, 2001)
  18. “October in the Chair”, Neil Gaiman (Conjunctions #39 2002)

Copyright 2012 - 2023 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Thursday 15 Oct 2015 at 12:23 PT