SFRA Awards Winners By Year

science fiction awards database

SFF Translation <— Overview thread —> SFWA

  SFRA Awards  
2020 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011
2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001
2000 1999 1998 1997 1996 1995 1994 1993 1992 1991
1990 1989 1988 1987 1986 1985 1984 1983 1982 1981
— 2018 —
Pioneer Award “The Political Economy of Potato Farming in Andy Weir's The Martian”, Thomas Strychacz
Clareson Award Veronica Hollinger
Student Paper “New Weird Frankenworlds: Speaking and Laboring Worlds in Cisco's Internet of Everything”, Josh Pearson
Mary Kay Bray Award Hugh C. O'Connell, for his review of Jack Fennell’s Irish Science Fiction
— 2017 —
Pioneer Award “Forms of Duration: Preparedness, the Mars Trilogy, and the Management of Climate Change”, Lindsay Thomas
Clareson Award Pawel Frelik
Student Paper Francis Gene-Rowe
Mary Kay Bray Award A. P. Canavan
— 2016 —
Pioneer Award “‘Shutter-Stop Flash-Bulb Strange’: GMOs and the Aesthetics of Scale in Paolo Bacigalupi’s The Windup Girl”, Scott Selisker
Clareson Award Farah Mendlesohn
Graduate Student Paper Dagmar Van Engen
Mary Kay Bray Award Amy Ransom
— 2015 —
Pioneer Award “Improbability Drives: The Energy of SF”, Graeme MacDonald
Clareson Award Vonda N. McIntyre
Graduate Student Paper “’What is and What Should Never Be’: Paracosmic Utopianism in Margaret Cavendish’s The Blazing World”, W. Andrew Shepherd
Mary Kay Bray Award “A Roundtable: Under the Skin [film]”, Marleen S. Barr, Pawel Frelik & Andy Hageman
— 2014 —
Pioneer Award “On the Double Vision of Realism and SF Estrangement in Gibson's Bigend Trilogy”, Jaak Tomberg
Clareson Award Lisa Yaszek
Graduate Student Paper “'Wherever you go, there you are': Postmodern Pastiche and Oppositional Rhetoric in The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the Eighth Dimension”, Michael Jarvis
Mary Kay Bray Award “Narrative, Archive, Database: The Digital Humanities and Science Fiction Scholarship 101”, Lisa Yaszek
— 2013 —
Pioneer Award “Future Histories and Cyborn Labor: Reading Borderlands Science Fiction after NAFTA”, Lysa Rivera
Clareson Award Rob Latham
Graduate Student Paper “Beyond the Wide World's End: Themes of Cosmopolitanism in Alfred Bester's The Stars My Destination”, W. Andrew Shephard
Mary Kay Bray Award “Terraforming 101”, Chris Pak
— 2012 —
Pioneer Award “Toward a Cosmopolitan Science Fiction”, David M. Higgins
Clareson Award Art Evans
Graduate Student Paper “Fantastic Voices: Octavia Butler’s First-Person Narrators and ‘The Evening and the Morning and the Night’”, Florian Bast
Mary Kay Bray Award “Review of Rise of the Planet of the Apes”, T. S. Miller
— 2011 —
Pioneer Award “On Defining SF, or Not: Genre Theory, SF, and History”, John Reider
Clareson Award The Tiptree Motherboard
Graduate Student Paper “Tales of Archival Crisis: Stephenson's Reimagining of the Post-Apocalyptic Frontier”, Bradley Fest
Mary Kay Bray Award “Southern Portable Panic: Frederico Álvarez's Ataque de Pánico!”, Alfredo Suppia
— 2010 —
Pioneer Award “The Anatomical Gaze in Tomorrow's Eve”, Allison de Fren
Clareson Award David Mead
Graduate Student Paper “Such Delight in Bloody Slaughter: R. A. Lafferty and the Dismemberment of the Body Grotesque”, Andrew Ferguson
Mary Kay Bray Award “Mundane SF 101”, Ritch Calvin
— 2009 —
Pioneer Award “Giving An Account of Oneself: Ethics, Alterity, Air”, Neil Easterbook
Clareson Award Hal Hall
Graduate Student Paper “The Imperial Unconscious: Samuel R. Delany's The Fall of the Towers”, David M. Higgins
Mary Kay Bray Award Sandor Klapcsik, for his review of Rewired in SFRAR #284
— 2008 —
Clareson Award Andy Sawyer
— 2007 —
Pioneer Award “Oppositional Postcolonialism in Quebecois Science Fiction”, Amy J. Ransom
Clareson Award Michael Levy
Graduate Student Paper “Magic, Art, Religion, Science: Blurring the Boundaries of Science and Science Fiction in Marge Piercy's Cyborgian Narrative”, Linda Wight
Mary Kay Bray Award Ed Carmien, for review of The Space Opera Renaissance in SFRAReview
— 2006 —
Pioneer Award “Redefining Women's Power Through Science Fiction”, Maria DeRose
Clareson Award Paul Kincaid
— 2005 —
Pioneer Award “The Women History Doesn't See: Recoverying Midcentury Women's SF as a Literature of Social Critique”, Lisa Yaszek
Clareson Award Muriel Becker
— 2004 —
Pioneer Award “Thirteen Ways of Looking at the British Boom”, Andrew M. Butler
Clareson Award Patricia Warrick
Graduate Student Paper “Single Cyborg Seeking Same: The Post-Human and the Problem of Loneliness”, Melissa Colleen Stevenson
Mary Kay Bray Award Bruce A. Beatie, for review of L. Frank Baum, Creator of Oz by Katharine M. Rogers
— 2003 —
Pioneer Award “Omniphage: Rock 'n'Roll and Avant-Pop Science Fiction”, Lance Olsen
Clareson Award Joe Sanders
Graduate Student Paper “Speculating about Gendered Evolution: Bram Stoker's White Worm and the Horror of Sexual Selection”, Sarah Canfield Fuller
Mary Kay Bray Award Farah Mendlesohn, for her review of Kim Stanley Robinson's The Years of Rice and Salt
— 2002 —
Pioneer Award “Science Fiction Without the Future”, Judith Berman
Clareson Award Joan Gordon
Graduate Student Paper “Homotopia? Or What's Behind a Prefix?”, Wendy Pearson
Mary Kay Bray Award “Transforming the Subject: Humanity, The Body, and Posthumanism”, Karen Hellekson
— 2001 —
Pioneer Award “Changing Regimes: Vonda N. McIntyre's Parodic Astrofuturism”, De Witt Douglas Kilgore
Clareson Award Donald "Mack" Hassler
Graduate Student Paper Award “Out of the Western Box: Rethinking Popular Cultural Categories from the Perspective of East German Science Fiction Studies”, Sonja Fritzsche
— 2000 —
Pioneer Award “Alien Cryptographies: The View from Queer”, Wendy Pearson
Clareson Award Arthur O. Lewis
Graduate Student Paper Award “'Resistance is Futile,' We Are Already Assimilated: Cyborging, Cyborg Societies, Cyborgs, and The Matrix”, Shelley Rodrigo Blanchard
— 1999 —
Pioneer Award “Kubrick's 2001 and the Possibility of a Science-Fiction Cinema”, Carl Freedman
Clareson Award David G. Hartwell
— 1998 —
Pioneer Award “Future-War Fiction: The First Main Phase, 1871-1900”, I. F. Clarke
Clareson Award Elizabeth Anne Hull
— 1997 —
Pioneer Award “Shifting Frontiers: Cyberpunk and the American South”, John Moore
Clareson Award James Gunn
— 1996 —
Pioneer Award “How Should a Science Fiction Story End?”, Brian Stableford
Clareson Award Frederik Pohl
— 1995 —
Pioneer Award “The Many Deaths of Science Fiction: A Polemic”, Roger Luckhurst
— 1994 —
Pioneer Award “Toward the Theoretical Frontiers of 'Fiction': From Metafiction and Cyberpunk Through Avant-Pop”, Larry McCaffery & Takayuki Tatsumi
— 1993 —
Pioneer Award no award
— 1992 —
Pioneer Award “The SF of Theory: Baudrillard and Haroway”, Istvan Csicsery-Ronay, Jr.
— 1991 —
Pioneer Award “The Vietnam War as American SF and Fantasy”, H. Bruce Franklin
— 1990 —
Pioneer Award “The Vampire and the Alien: Variations on the Outsider”, Veronica Hollinger

Copyright 2012 - 2021 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Friday 4 May 2018 at 13:52 PT