Lester del Rey

science fiction awards database

<—         —>
<—           —>

Awards Summary

Career and Special Awards: 3



Other Awards: 1

Total Number of Award Wins and Nominations: 26

— Career and Special Awards —
SFWA Grand Master Awardchosen by SF & Fantasy Writers of America officers

Milford Awardfor lifetime achievement in publishing or editing
(Judy-Lynn del Rey & LdR) winner

Skylark Awardfor contribution to SF in the spirit of E.E. "Doc" Smith; presented by NESFA

— Major Awards —
World Fantasy Awardsfor Fantasy works; juried, with nominations from World Fantasy Con members
(4 nominations)

for Ballantine Del Rey — special award, professional — nomination

for Ballantine Del Rey — special award, professional — nomination

for Ballantine Del Rey Fantasy — special award, professional — nomination

(Judy-Lynn del Rey & LdR) for Ballantine — special award, professional — nomination

— Locus Awards and Poll —
Locus Awardsfor SF/F/H works, polled by readers of Locus Magazine
(13 nominations)

Once Upon a Time: A Treasury of Modern Fairy Tales (LdR & Risa Kessler, eds.) (Legend; Ballantine Del Rey) — anthology — 8th place

The Best of Hal Clement (by Hal Clement, edited by LdR) (Ballantine Del Rey) — single author collection — 10th place

The World of Science Fiction: 1926-1976 (Ballantine Del Rey) — related nonfiction book — 5th place

The Best of John W. Campbell (by John W. Campbell, edited by LdR) (Ballantine) — author collection — 12th place

critic — 2nd place

The Best of C.L. Moore (by C. L. Moore, edited by LdR) (Ballantine) — single author collection — 7th place

The Best of Frederik Pohl (by Frederik Pohl, edited by LdR) (Ballantine) — single author collection — 14th place

Early del Rey (Doubleday) — single author collection — 8th place

Fantastic SF Art 1926 - 1954 (Ballantine) — associational item — 7th place

critic — 2nd place

Best Science Fiction Stories of the Year: Third Annual Collection (Dutton) — reprint anthology — 10th place

critic — 5th place

critic — 7th place

— Other Awards —
Balrog Awardsfor fantasy works, presented an annual FoolsCon in Kansas City
(2 nominations; 1 win)

special award — winner

for publishing — professional achievement — nomination

Retro Hugo Awardsfor SF works 50 years past, voted by members of the World SF Convention
(4 nominations)

Nerves (Astounding Science Fiction Sep 1942) — novella — nomination

“The Faithful ” (Astounding Science-Fiction Apr 1938) — short story — nomination

“Helen O'Loy” (Astounding Science-Fiction Dec 1938) — short story — nomination

“Into Thy Hands ” (Astounding Aug 1945) — novelette — nomination

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Saturday 27 Nov 2021 at 11:11 PT