Wil McCarthy

science fiction awards database

<—         —>

Awards Summary




Awards Won: 3

Total Number of Award Wins and Nominations: 17

— Major Awards —
Nebula Awardsfor SF/F works, voted by SF & Fantasy Writers of America professional membership
(2 nominations)

To Crush the Moon (Bantam Spectra) — novel — nomination

The Collapsium (Ballantine Del Rey) — novel — nomination

Philip K. Dick Awardfor SF original paperback published in the US, juried
(1 nomination)

To Crush the Moon (Bantam Spectra) — finalist

Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Awardfor SF short fiction in English; juried
(1 nomination)

“Once Upon a Matter Crushed ” (Science Fiction Age Jul 1999) — shortlist

— Locus Awards and Poll —
Locus Awardsfor SF/F/H works, polled by readers of Locus Magazine
(6 nominations)

To Crush the Moon (Bantam Spectra) — sf novel — 20th place

Lost in Transmission (Bantam Spectra) — sf novel — 19th place (tie)

The Collapsium (Ballantine Del Rey) — sf novel — 12th place

“Once Upon a Matter Crushed ” (Science Fiction Age Jul 1999) — novella — 21st place

Bloom (Ballantine Del Rey) — sf novel — 24th place

Aggressor Six (Roc) — first novel — 14th place

— Other Awards —
Analog Readers Pollfor stories, articles, and art published by Analog, polled by readers
(5 nominations; 2 wins)

“The Last Biker Gang” (Analog May/Jun 2018) — novella — winner

“Wyatt Earp 2.0” — novella — 2nd place

“Mission to Utah: A Science Fiction Writer's Adventures at the Mars Society Desert Research Station” (Analog Jul/Aug 2005) — fact article — winner

“Beyond the Periodic Table: Artificial Atoms and Programmable Matter” (Analog Jan 2002) — fact article — 3rd place

“The Dream of Houses” (Analog Nov 1995) — short story — 4th place

Prometheus Awardsfor SF works on libertarian themes, voted by members of the Libertarian Futurist Society
(1 nomination; 1 win)

Rich Man's Sky (Baen) — novel — winner

Seiun Awardsfor SF/F works published in Japan, voted by members of annual Japanese SF Con
(1 nomination)

The Collapsium — translated long form — nomination

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Saturday 9 Jul 2022 at 10:48 PT