Patrick Ness

science fiction awards database

<—         —>

Awards Summary


Major Awards: 1


Other Awards: 2

Total Number of Award Wins and Nominations: 12

— Major Awards —
Arthur C. Clarke Awardfor SF novel published in the UK; juried
(1 nomination)

Monsters of Men (Walker Books) — shortlist

Bram Stoker Awardsfor Horror works, voted by Horror Writer's Association professional membership
(1 nomination)

A Monster Calls (Candlewick) — young-adult novel — nomination

James Tiptree Jr Memorial Awardfor SF/F that explores and expands the roles of women and men, juried
(1 nomination; 1 win)

The Knife of Never Letting Go (Walker) — winner (tie)

— Locus Awards and Poll —
Locus Awardsfor SF/F/H works, polled by readers of Locus Magazine
(5 nominations)

More Than This (Candlewick; Walker) — young adult book — 9th place

A Monster Calls (Walker UK; Candlewick) — young adult book — 10th place

Monsters of Men (Candlewick; Walker UK) — young adult book — 11th place

The Ask and the Answer (Walker UK; Candlewick) — young adult novel — 7th place

The Knife of Never Letting Go (Walker UK; Candlewick) — young adult novel — 11th place

— Other Awards —
The Kitschiesfor speculative/fantastic works that elevate the tone of genre literature, juried
(4 nominations; 2 wins)

for the genre community, personified by Ness, for the response to the humanitarian refugee crisis — Black Tentacle (judges' discretion) — winner

More Than This (Walker) — Red Tentacle (novel) — nomination

A Monster Calls (by PN & Siobhan Dowd) (Walker) — Red Tentacle (novel) — winner

A Monster Calls (by PN & Siobhan Dowd, illustration by Jim Kay) (Walker) — Inky Tentacle (cover art) — nomination

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Wednesday 16 Mar 2016 at 10:29 PT