Otherwise Award

science fiction awards database
Lodestar <— Overview thread —> Philip K. Dick

  Otherwise Award  
2020 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011
The Otherwise Award (before 2020 known as the James Tiptree, Jr. Award) is an annual literary prize for "science fiction or fantasy that explores and expands the roles of women and men for work by both women and men".
Novels and short fiction are both eligible; theme 'gender-bending fiction'
Check for $1000
Where & When
Annual at various conventions, most recently Wiscon in Madison, Wisconsin
Five judges are selected each year, who evaluate recommendations submitted by publishers and by readers. Judges choose a winner, and release a 'shortlist' and sometimes a 'longlist' of other works they feel merit attention, though those lists are not considered to be finalists or runners-up.
Founded by Pat Murphy and Karen Joy Fowler
— Winners by Year —
— 2020 — Freshwater, Akwaeke Emezi

Copyright 2012 - 2021 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Sunday 10 May 2020 at 11:04 PT