British SF Association Awards 2024

science fiction awards database

Andre Norton <— 2024 thread —> Clarke

<— British SF Association Awards —> 2023
Winners announced: March 29, 2024 - April 1, 2024
Convention: Eastercon
Where: Telford International Centre

Eligibility Year: 2023
Shorter Fiction (novelette Or Novella)
Short Fiction
Translated Short Fiction
Fiction For Younger Readers
Collection Or Anthology
  • Winner: The Best of British Science Fiction 2022, Donna Scott, ed. (Newcon)
  • Best of World SF: Volume 3, Lavie Tidhar, ed. (Bloomsbury)
  • Mothersound: The Sauútiverse Anthology, Wole Talabi, ed. (Android)
  • No One Will Come Back for Us, Premee Mohamed (Undertow)
  • Strange Attractors, Jaine Fenn (Newcon)
Nonfiction (long)
  • Winner: A Traveller in Time: The Critical Practice of Maureen Kincaid Speller, Nina Allan, ed. (Luna)
  • All These Worlds, Niall Harrison (Briardene)
  • Ex Marginalia: Essays on Writing Speculative Fiction by Persons of Color, Chinelo Onwualu, ed. (Hydra House)
  • “The Female Man”, Farah Mendlesohn (Eastercon talk) (Eastercon talk)
  • Spec Fic for Newbies: A Beginner’s Guide to Writing Subgenres of Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror, Tiffani Angus & Val Nolan (Luna)
Nonfiction (short)
  • Winner: “Project Management Lessons from Rogue One”, Fiona Moore (
  • “Dominant Themes in Afro-Centric Fiction”, Eugen Bacon (Aurealis 158)
  • “Exposition Tax: The hidden burden of writing from the margins”, Suyi Davies Okungbowa (Ex Marginalia)
  • “Prisoners in the Temple of the Muses”, Wole Talabi (Ancillary Review of Books 17 Aug 2023)
  • “Tech Billionaires Need to Stop Trying to Make the Science Fiction They Grew Up on Real”, Charles Stross (Scientific American 20 Dec 2023)
  • “Weaving the Rainbow: Worldbuilding and SF”, Gautam Bhatia (Bombay Literary Magazine Apr 2023)
  • Winner: Leo Nickolls for The Surviving Sky by Krikita H. Rao (Titan)
  • Juliana Pinho for “The Alphabet of Pinaa: An AI Reinvents Zerself on an Inhabited Moon” by Eugen Bacon (Interzone Digital)
  • Elena Betti for Danged Black Thing by Eugen Bacon (Apex)
  • Julia Lloyd for Descendant Machine by Gareth L. Powell (Titan)
  • Christine Kim for Jewel Box: Stories by E. Lily Yu (Erewhom)
  • Vinayak Varma for “Strung Along in Seaforth” by Jonathan Laidlow (Interzone 295)
Audio Fiction

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Saturday 6 Jul 2024 at 13:58 PT