Bruce McAllister

science fiction awards database

<—         —>

Awards Summary




Awards Won: 1

Total Number of Award Wins and Nominations: 16

Times Served as Judge: 3

— Major Awards —
Hugo Awardsfor SF/F works, voted by members of annual World Science Fiction Convention
(2 nominations)

“Kin” (Asimov's Feb 2006) — short story — nomination

“Dream Baby” (In the Field of Fire; Asimov's Oct 1987) — novelette — nomination

Nebula Awardsfor SF/F works, voted by SF & Fantasy Writers of America professional membership
(1 nomination)

“Dream Baby” (In the Field of Fire; Asimov's Oct 1987) — novelette — nomination

Shirley Jackson Awardsfor works of psychological horror and dark fantastic, juried
(1 nomination)

“The Crying Child” (Cemetery Dance #68, originally "The Bleeding Child") — novelette — nomination

— Locus Awards and Poll —
Locus Awardsfor SF/F/H works, polled by readers of Locus Magazine
(7 nominations)

The Village Sang To The Sea: A Memoir of Magic (Aeon) — fantasy novel — 24th place

“Blue Fire” (F&SF Mar/Apr 2010) — short story — 22nd place

The Girl Who Loved Animals and Other Stories (Golden Gryphon) — collection — 19th place

“Kin” (Asimov's Feb 2006) — short story — 26th place

Dream Baby (Tor) — fantasy novel — 5th place

“The Girl Who Loved Animals” (Omni May 1988) — short story — 32nd place

“Dream Baby” (In the Field of Fire; Asimov's Oct 1987) — novelette — 5th place

— Other Awards —
Analog Readers Pollfor stories, articles, and art published by Analog, polled by readers
(3 nominations; 1 win)

“If” (Analog Jan/Feb 2021) — poem — winner

“What We Forget” (Analog Nov/Dec 2021) — poem — 4th place (tie)

“When I Think of My Father” (Analog Jul/Aug 2021) — poem — 4th place (tie)

Asimov's Reader Pollfor stories, poems, and art published by Asimov's, polled by readers
(2 nominations)

“Invasion” (Asimov's Jul/Aug 2017) — poem — 4th place

“Free Range” (Asimov's) — short story — 3rd place (tie)

— As Judge —
World Fantasy Awardsfor Fantasy works; juried, with nominations from World Fantasy Con members
Philip K. Dick Awardfor SF original paperback published in the US, juried

Copyright 2012 - 2024 by Mark R. Kelly and the Locus Science Fiction Foundation. All rights reserved.
This page last updated Thursday 27 Oct 2022 at 10:57 PT